Betta Fish Forum banner

companions

3K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  Saroar 
#1 ·
i am new to this. I have a beautiful male beta. I had bought a female and keep her in a different tank, but she passed after a few weeks. I was wondering what type of fish i can add to his tank without any problems

#4 ·
You should definitely throw a heater in there. Even if your atmospheric temperature is appropriate, it's probably not stable. Unstable temperatures lower your betta's immune system and cause quite a bit of stress. I think there's a Tetra heater at Walmart that is made for small tanks that a lot of members here use without problems which keeps your temperature at ~78ºF. And stable.

As for the tank mates, I think two gallons is too small for anything else to be added. Maybe a shrimp? I think most people suggest a minimum of five gallons for ADFs because they like to be in pairs, but I could be wrong. The last thing I can think of is a snanil, if that's something that interests you.

#5 ·
ADF's have a high bioload I hear but don't take my word for it as i'm not familiar with these, also bettas have been known to tear limbs off ADF's which sounds pretty nasty lol. I agree with Kittles about the heater and also that your tank isn't big enough for anything other than shrimp or a snail and snails also have a high bioload, however I have kept snails in a 2.5 with a betta and had no problems, just make sure you keep up with regular water changes :)

#6 ·
it sounds to me like bettas are not a very friendly type fish. i sure wish there was something that i could add to his tank. i sure he is board all alone in the tank by himself. I remember when i bought the female and put her tank next to his,talk about growing twice the size in a mater of seconds. he was so beautiful. Wish i could see him like that again.

#7 ·