Betta Fish Forum banner

New time breeder...in need of a bit of help :)

515 views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  Myates 
#1 ·
Hey everyone! As the title says, this is my first time breeding bettas. (Don't worry, I have done LOTS of research!)... This is what I have so far:

The Pair

The male: I am not sure how old he is, but I don't think he is that old...he is a dragonscale white-bodied, yellow (with a black outline) finned plakat
The female: I think the female might be around a year old, maybe not even that (I raised her myself). She is a metallic (not sure if she is a dragonscale or not) blue crowntail.

Conditioning

The male: He has been conditioning in about 80 degrees of clean water with brine shrimp/bloodworms/etc for around 3 weeks now
The female: I am not exactly sure if it is bad for her or not.... but she has pretty much gotten frozen foods all her life with me. She was part of a sorority with shrimp and cories, so that is what they all get. It is a planted tank (about 80 degrees) that she has been living in and she has been living in good conditions like this for a long time...probably at least 5 months? Not sure...

The breeding tank

The tank is a spare glass ten gallon I had. It has clean water and sits around 80-82 degrees (it has a heater). There is no substrate or anything; it is bare bottomed. I am going to pick up a few more live plants to throw in there on top of the few that are already in there. The water is filled up only a few inches, and the top of the tank is covered.

The introduction

I just introduced them for the first time today; they have only been in there for an hour or so. He is swimming freely in the tank and she is inside one of those (about 1/3 gallon) kritter keepers that is sitting inside the tank so they can see each other...

Questions:

1. How long should the introduction take? I know the signs that they are ready, but about how long-ish will it be until she is ready to release?