Betta Fish Forum banner

My fish tries to attack his reflection

1K views 14 replies 3 participants last post by  tiffanylucky 
#1 ·
I bought my second betta fish yesterday and put him in a 1 gallon tank next to my older fishes tank. Whenever he catches a glimpse of his reflection he will continuously stare and flare his beard. Sometimes when he's in the middle he will swim right on over to the side bopping him in the mouth. It doesn't damage him but I'm concerned. Sometimes he will look through his tank at my other fish when they are at the same level. He will show his beard (I think it's called flaring but I forgot sorry:lol:). I've read that this can cause stress (reflection) and was wondering what I could do to prevent it. I recently lost a fish do to fin rot and am very paranoid and check in on them frequently (5-7 times a day). Will his reflection cause stress or will my frequent check ins make him scared?

Ps: I'm new to bettafish.com and from now on will be referring my fish by their names. My new fish is Rufus- a male. And Katniss- female

#3 ·
sorry hit enter when I wasn't finished typing. My battas do the same thing I have found that when I leave the light in my room on and tank light on they can't see the reflection on the tank. I have 2 as well one male and one female whom I spoil thanks to this website. Also, I found that if I play with them it helps as well. I like making them do tricks for a blood worm or to bit my finger which doesn't hurt. My bettas will start hunting and planning how high and where to jump to get the food.

#4 ·
I do this every day to make sure they don't get board and start tail biting.

#5 ·
Thank you, Since I spoil them also, they will have 1 or 2 bloodworms a day so when they see me giving them one they wont really do any tricks just come up at the top of the tank. Do you know of any other treats I could give them since they arw so used to bloodworms?

#6 ·