Betta Fish Forum banner

My tiny walmart rescue is sick

982 views 8 replies 2 participants last post by  TRISHIESfishie 
#1 ·
He is totally lethargic. Stays on his side until he needs a breath, rights himself for a few minutes and back on his side. I started the epson salt treatment for bloat. But his left eye is bulged out and he looks a little flared. I don't know how to treat this. The eye thing scares me. I am relatively new to bettas and I am not sure if this is treatable. I would love any help.

#2 ·
You are on the right track with the Epsom salt-I would start him off in 1tsp/gal and if no improvement by day 3-increase the Epsom salt to 2tsp/gal-make 100% daily water changes as well for 10 day treatment
I would also cover the top with something to keep the air above the water warm and humid (I use plastic veggie wrap) and keep the water level low-I would keep him in the small container you got him in and float this in a heated tank (attach to the side so it doesn't sink)...if you have IAL or dried oak leaf add this too.

I pre-mix my Epsom salt 1tsp/gal up to 3tsp/gal in a clean 1gal jug-fill with dechlorinated water, add Epsom salt and add my oak leaf to steep-this make water changes and dosage easier...shake well before use
I like to treat in water temp of 76-77F
Feed small frequent meals but not so much that he bloats

#4 ·
IAL-Indian almond leaf

And yes, this should also help popeye-I just used this treatment on a female with bilateral popeye successfully-after 3 days I did have to increase the Epsom salt to 2tsp/gal and she made a complete recovery after 8 days-went home on day 9 and was spawned on day 12 and continues to do well.

#5 ·
IAL-Indian almond leaf

And yes, this should also help popeye-I just used this treatment on a female with bilateral popeye successfully-after 3 days I did have to increase the Epsom salt to 2tsp/gal and she made a complete recovery after 8 days-went home on day 9 and was spawned on day 12 and continues to do well.