Betta Fish Forum banner

Advice needed for betta tank mates and plants in a 36 gallon tank.

12K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  Pilot00 
#1 ·
Hi boys and girls! I hope all your fishy friends are healthy happy and thriving!

I wanted some advice on the setup of my 36 gallon tank.

Right now the aquarium is completely cycled on a PH of 7.3 with gravel, a planted small java fern (which btw doesnt do so good) and some java moss. Some scenery in the form of 2 rock formations an old victorian era battleship (an old broken down model of my father)sawed in half and... a cave.

Right now the only fish inside is my male betta and he feels like a king. I rescued him from a tiny petshop cup about a month ago.

The advice i want to ask is with what fish he would be willing to coexist. I had a look throughout the forum and it seems more or less a gamble but never the less i would like opinions.

I have nearly 20 years of experience with those fish: Angel fish, Oscar, yellow parrots, silver dollars clown loaches, sharks of all kinds, platys, cories, gambies, mollies, swordtails (those three i dont look forward too again), african butterflies, elephant fish and a cynodontis that lasted for 28 years!

So are any of those compatible? I know for example that Oscar parrots and are a no,no. So what are your ideas/advice for tank mates?

Also i would like a few ideas for plants, i am a beginner with this one, i dont seem to make even the fern grow :( . Not in the least are the silver dollars responsible for me never having live plants :wink2:

So looking forward to your thoughts!

See less See more
#2 ·
Cories can go with a betta, and I believe most loaches can as well, but when choosing tank mates, you should also know your water hardness, along with the pH and having the tank cycled. I'm not sure about the temperature in Greece, but you might need a heater as well.