Betta Fish Forum banner

Is my betta's tail okay?

803 views 12 replies 6 participants last post by  bannlow2471 
#1 ·
He's a fast little booger, so this is the best shot I could get (I put a piece of my husband's work paperwork behind the tank so you could see it a little better). Truthfully I can't remember if his fins were like this when we got him a month ago. I know they weren't perfect, though. Is this something I need to intervene on or is it typical? What can I do? Thanks!

Attachments

See less See more
#4 ·
What do you think is wrong with him? He looks like a healthy crown tail to me. But then I have never owned a crown tail.
Truthfully I'm new to owning a betta, so I'm not even certain the difference between all the varieties. I just see other pictures of bettas and their tails seem less... shabby? Just wanting to make sure this is common for his "type". He seems very healthy/happy.

#3 ·
I'm a Betta neophyte so I honestly have no clue but it seems normal to me. Beautiful fish! I am sure someone more experienced will be along soon to give you some feedback.

Reactions: Lodie
#10 ·
Shymarienez, I completely sympathize. I'm new to Bettas myself (my male veil tail has been with me about six months now) and I feel like I have so much to learn and am constantly wondering if I'm doing what I should. I read this forum obsessively for months before joining and starting to post, and everyone here has been very helpful. Just watch out... I now have two Bettas and am already thinking about a couple more. They're so beautiful and have such personalities, which frankly I never really thought fish did/would.

#13 ·