Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2008, 08:08 PM   #11 
Flashygrrl
Member
 
Flashygrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Problem is, there's no "set time" where a tank cycles. That's where the liquid test kit comes in handy. You sit and wait (a beautiful chance to develop patience) until that day comes where you have 0 ammonia and nitrites and a low level of nitrates (if you're not having fish at all in the tank during cycling throw a couple flakes of food in every couple days to decay and produce ammonia). Hope this helps a bit....
Flashygrrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 08:18 PM   #12 
key_555
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
yes it dose but i didnt know that i need to let it cycle and i dont want my bettas to die my son would be heart broken if that happen i know that is life but he is just two
key_555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 09:05 PM   #13 
Flashygrrl
Member
 
Flashygrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Well...don't panic. Just do everything that you've been advised to do, it should help, in the meantime partially change the tank water every other day and don't forget the dechlorinator. You're at least trying and that's a good thing.

And yeah...cycling is something they don't tell you about when you buy a fish or a tank so it's up to us to do the research. A good (but unfortunately sometimes hard) lesson to learn.
Flashygrrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 03:54 PM   #14 
crazy4fish
Member
 
crazy4fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: N.Y.
do you have an API testing kit? if you dont you can either get one or bring a small sample of water to you lfs and they will test it for you.
crazy4fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 08:22 PM   #15 
Oldman47
Member
 
Oldman47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Forsyth Il, USA
Forget the water from your mother's tank. If you can get filter material or gravel from that tank it will give you seed material to quickly do a fishless cycle. Use ammonia to build the bacterial population from that seed quickly. You should be able to get there in only a few days.
Oldman47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 08:27 PM   #16 
key_555
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
ok how much gravle should i get from them
key_555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 05:27 AM   #17 
Flashygrrl
Member
 
Flashygrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
If you aren't using that specific color in your tank just get enough to fill the foot area of a pair of pantyhose (yes, that means you will have to go BUY some pantyhose, or see if anyone's got an old pair and cut one of the legs off at around where the knee would start), tie it off and either drop it in your tank or hang it from something.
Flashygrrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 02:16 PM   #18 
crazy4fish
Member
 
crazy4fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: N.Y.
it sounds a little weird but it will work.
crazy4fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.