Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-27-2012, 11:46 PM   #261 
JennybugJennifer
Member
 
JennybugJennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Utah

Posted via Mobile Device
JennybugJennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 01:41 PM   #262 
Wolfie305
Member
 
Wolfie305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sagamore Beach, MA
So I just got two of these little guys today and just finished setting up their 5.5 gallon QT tank. Once I know they are healthy, I'll move into the 10 gallon with Paarthurnax.

I added water conditioner, a heater, a small filter, and lots of floating silk plants and a log. Is it okay to add them?

:3
Wolfie305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 01:53 PM   #263 
Chesh
Member
 
Chesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Sounds good to me! Congratulations on your new little friends!
Chesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 01:59 PM   #264 
Wolfie305
Member
 
Wolfie305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sagamore Beach, MA
Thank you very much! They are so cute :3
Wolfie305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 05:59 PM   #265 
JennybugJennifer
Member
 
JennybugJennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Utah
Question: I did a water change because my nitrate was a little high
And I thought I was done so I used my hand sanitizer but just a tiny bit, and it was dry. But I couldn't find Frogger so I reached in to list his hide(I found him)
Do I need to do an emergency water change because of the sanitizer?
JennybugJennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:00 PM   #266 
JennybugJennifer
Member
 
JennybugJennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Utah
I saw a half gallon set up a petsmart containing two ADFS , one Betta, and one other small fish :/
JennybugJennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:26 PM   #267 
Chesh
Member
 
Chesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by JennybugJennifer View Post
Question: I did a water change because my nitrate was a little high
And I thought I was done so I used my hand sanitizer but just a tiny bit, and it was dry. But I couldn't find Frogger so I reached in to list his hide(I found him)
Do I need to do an emergency water change because of the sanitizer?
EEEK! I would change the water just to be safe - I honestly have no idea, but I'm really careful to always wash my hands before touching my tank water. . .

And half-gallon tanks shouldn't even exist. Poor little guys. . .

HEY! You got your test kit! Good job!
Chesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 09:54 PM   #268 
Wolfie305
Member
 
Wolfie305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sagamore Beach, MA
When it comes time to put the ADF's and Paarth (betta) together, I just have a question about feeding.

The froggies' food won't be deadly to Paarth if he ends up eating some, will it? Does it sink? I just hope the frogs get their food and Paarth doesn't eat it all/
Wolfie305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 10:34 PM   #269 
JennybugJennifer
Member
 
JennybugJennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfie305 View Post
When it comes time to put the ADF's and Paarth (betta) together, I just have a question about feeding.

The froggies' food won't be deadly to Paarth if he ends up eating some, will it? Does it sink? I just hope the frogs get their food and Paarth doesn't eat it all/
It won't be toxic to your Betta at all
But you have to WATCH your frog eat because I had this issue and my frog was starving and my Betta was fat

I would cup your Betta and float him at the top I the cup while you feed your frog
I would feed him frozen-thawed bloodworms( I feed in a cup so he can get it and doesn't hurt his nose)
I've found my frog won't eat the pellets or any sort of pellet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chesherca View Post
EEEK! I would change the water just to be safe - I honestly have no idea, but I'm really careful to always wash my hands before touching my tank water. . .

And half-gallon tanks shouldn't even exist. Poor little guys. . .

HEY! You got your test kit! Good job!
I did but only a cheap one for now :( the one you suggested and I want is 33.00$ so I have to wait. My Bettas tanks were excellent but froggers nitrate and nitrite were high :(( I used all the strips already grrrrr. I didn't change his water(after using santitizer, he got a 50% change today before the hand sanitizer accident because of the nitrates/nitrites) because I was late for an appOintment and he seems ok :((( I feel awful.

Last edited by JennybugJennifer; 05-29-2012 at 10:38 PM.
JennybugJennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 11:39 PM   #270 
Wolfie305
Member
 
Wolfie305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sagamore Beach, MA
Ooh I can feed them bloodworms? I have the frozen kind for my bettas :)
Wolfie305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Care guide from a cup... Myates Betta Fish Care 2 09-24-2011 06:30 PM
Transition from bad care to proper care mellalune Betta Fish Care 3 11-01-2010 10:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.