Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2012, 06:25 PM   #1 
DiiQue
Member
 
DiiQue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Third Planet From The Sun
How do you anchor your live plants?

Most plants I see at the pet stores here tend to not have roots (they are cut at the stem, usually bundled together, and left floating in the tank). What are some ways one could anchor these to the bottom, without fear of it floating up again during water changes? I have the eco Complete substrate and gravel, if this helps. Thanks in advance!!!
DiiQue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 06:36 PM   #2 
Meggie6347
Member
 
Meggie6347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Every once and a while when I can't get mine to stick in the substrate, I tie those little metal weights on the base....I don't know what they're called...they're like a metal twisty...places like petco and petsmart have them...I needed a few a couple of years ago and my petsmart gave me a few for free
Meggie6347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 06:39 PM   #3 
MSG
Member
 
MSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
  • What size tank do you have?
  • How much eco-complete did you buy?
  • How many inches of substrate do you have to work with?
I have that stuff and boy it was kind of a pain to siphon.

  • Quick answer to your question is.....
  1. Fishing line or string if you want it to dissolve in 30 days.
  2. Rock/weight to tie the plant to.
  3. Once attached, bury the thing into the substrate.
  • Certain plants are tied together because they're MEANT to float.
MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 06:40 PM   #4 
KPainter
Member
 
KPainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spacecoast of FL
I just poke them into the substrate. Sometimes I have to do it more than once but eventually they stick.
Posted via Mobile Device
KPainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 06:57 PM   #5 
DiiQue
Member
 
DiiQue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Third Planet From The Sun
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSG View Post
  • What size tank do you have?
  • How much eco-complete did you buy?
  • How many inches of substrate do you have to work with?
I have that stuff and boy it was kind of a pain to siphon.

  • Quick answer to your question is.....
  1. Fishing line or string if you want it to dissolve in 30 days.
  2. Rock/weight to tie the plant to.
  3. Once attached, bury the thing into the substrate.
  • Certain plants are tied together because they're MEANT to float.
I have the Aqueon Evolve 8 tank.. it's a little over 5 gallons. As for the ecoComplete - I bought the 20lb bag, so tons. Same with the gravel (they didn't sell the natural colored gravel any smaller). Nothing is set up yet, as I just got the tank, but am thinking an inch or two of eco and an inch of the gravel. Do you think this is good or overkill?
DiiQue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 07:10 PM   #6 
MSG
Member
 
MSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
I'm not sure, I know what that tank looks like, but with plants, 1" is good, 2" is usually better for burying anchored/weighted plants.

I've tried just jamming the floating plants into the eco-complete, but it definitely needs to be weighted.

I have 40-50lbs of EC that I'm cooking in the sun RIGHT now.
MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 07:13 PM   #7 
MSG
Member
 
MSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
If you wanted SMALLER natural gravel, you should have gone with "Pool Filter Sand". I heard you could get a 50lb bag of that for $12 or $15 at your local hardware store.

The guy who recommended it has 12 running TANKS. He HIGHLY recommended it.

I have to stop by his place to photograph some of his fish. He's got one the size of a WATERMELON.

These are not bettas though.
MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 07:19 PM   #8 
DiiQue
Member
 
DiiQue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Third Planet From The Sun
Would the sand be difficult to suction the poop/debris out of? I was toying with the idea of sand as well because I saw a couple of videos of tanks with this setup and they looked really nice and natural.

I had a silver arowana that grew to be about 3.5ft (got him when he was only a couple of inches). Died because he jumped out of his tank during a power outage and no one was home...
DiiQue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 07:40 PM   #9 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator
 
Perseusmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
I have gravel now but I wish I had used sand. I want some white sand if I can find it. Would it be okay to add a top layer of sand over the gravel ? My gravel is about and inch or more thick as of now I could always thin it out some but hate to mess with it to much as my tank is getting cycled.
Perseusmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 02:19 AM   #10 
DiiQue
Member
 
DiiQue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Third Planet From The Sun
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meggie6347 View Post
Every once and a while when I can't get mine to stick in the substrate, I tie those little metal weights on the base....I don't know what they're called...they're like a metal twisty...places like petco and petsmart have them...I needed a few a couple of years ago and my petsmart gave me a few for free
Did you have to worry about them because they were metal? I did some googling and found some stuff like what you described but they were all lead based... Don't know how safe they would be for fish.
DiiQue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
live plants.... PhilipPhish Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 03-03-2012 12:40 PM
are fake plants alright or should i get live plants? jschristian44 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 7 01-09-2011 10:34 PM
Live Plants vs Fake Plants Phoxly Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 10 06-15-2010 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.