Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2012, 05:37 PM   #1 
myfavfish
New Member
 
myfavfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Is this ok?

i just got a java fern for my fish tank :D i got rid of my bamboo plant and put the java fern in :) is it ok in there? like is it placed properly and stuff? my fish isnt in there yet.
Attached Images
 
myfavfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:43 PM   #2 
MSG
Member
 
MSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
You don't have any decorations to attach the fern to? I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to bury it in the gravel but I can't really tell from your photo. Way too dark where the roots are.

Your fern has a ton of little baby ferns at the tips of the leaves. Too bad they grow slow as molasses.
MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:48 PM   #3 
mcneivra
New Member
 
mcneivra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
i was just researching a bit on this plant for you and this is what i found "Java Fern will not grow well if planted in a substrate...it grows by rhyzomes (thick roots) that need to be in the water layer, not planted. The main growing root should remain on or above the substrate. Yes just weighting it down will work." hope this helps :)
mcneivra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:49 PM   #4 
myfavfish
New Member
 
myfavfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
thats what i thought :p here is a closer picture, maybe this is better?
Attached Images
  
myfavfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:51 PM   #5 
myfavfish
New Member
 
myfavfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
i know the main roots are suppose to be out, so im pretty sure i let them all out. i only buried the small roots if i remember right :) and is it suppose to have dirt? :( im afraid the dirt will make my water dirty or something :p
myfavfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:59 PM   #6 
mcneivra
New Member
 
mcneivra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
no, no dirt! :p if anything you could use sand. but maybe you could weigh down the smaller roots with a rock? but (i'm not positive) you should be fine because i just read that the larger roots just have to be exposed-which is what you did :)
mcneivra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 06:02 PM   #7 
myfavfish
New Member
 
myfavfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcneivra View Post
no, no dirt! :p if anything you could use sand. but maybe you could weigh down the smaller roots with a rock? but (i'm not positive) you should be fine because i just read that the larger roots just have to be exposed-which is what you did :)
it came with the dirt so i dont know if its suppose to be there or not D: but to weigh it down, i just put a little bit of rocks on the small roots. but i left the big ones out :)
myfavfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 06:07 PM   #8 
mcneivra
New Member
 
mcneivra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
to be honest i don't know much about using dirt in aquariums but here, check out this link (she's using dirt to substrate her plants) http://www.dustinsfishtanks.com/dirt...do-it-and-why/
honestly i don't think that the dirt is really necessary as my live plants have thrived just with the light and warm water..but then again that's just my experience. you should be fine with what you've done!
mcneivra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 06:10 PM   #9 
myfavfish
New Member
 
myfavfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
ok thank you so much <3
myfavfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 06:16 PM   #10 
mcneivra
New Member
 
mcneivra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
of course! :3
mcneivra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
java fern, plant, tank

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.