Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2012, 08:39 PM   #1 
Laki
Member
 
Laki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. John's NL
Clipping Hygrophilia Polysperma

Okay. So the 2 hygros I bought 2 or 3 days ago are shooting out of the water (they're too tall!!). I need to trim them. Never had to trim aquatic plants before. Any suggestions? Thanks.
Laki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:57 PM   #2 
registereduser
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
http://hygrophila-polysperma.com/

registereduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:24 PM   #3 
Laki
Member
 
Laki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. John's NL
THANKS! But I totally don't have that species. Ugh. They sell it as hygrophilia polysperma. I'll post pics tomorrow of what I have !! lol
Laki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:12 PM   #4 
kfryman
Member
 
kfryman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Fremont, CA
Where ever the nodes, or where the leaves come out of clip on top of that or above the leaves and replant.

What type do you have?
kfryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:59 AM   #5 
Laki
Member
 
Laki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. John's NL
These are the leaves (and in my avatar). Going to google now to find out what kind I have!
Thanks for the tip on clipping. I don't want it touching the light anymore. It's bad enough the light seems precarious as it is.
Attached Images
 
Laki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 06:09 AM   #6 
Laki
Member
 
Laki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. John's NL
Pretty sure it is hygrophila polysperma - crinkled broadleaf. So confusing! lol
It seems to match best with all the pictures of it. Should I bury the roots more I need to keep them in little pots until I get more gravel. Will this be okay? OR do the roots need room to grow out??
Laki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:33 PM   #7 
kfryman
Member
 
kfryman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Fremont, CA
I would give them more room to grow, because mine have gone crazy with roots in my 15 NPT tank
kfryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 04:04 PM   #8 
Laki
Member
 
Laki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: St. John's NL
Okay!! Maybe I'll buy more gravel tomorrow then.. If my tank is cycled and I buy a bag of gravel can I just put the gravel in after it's rinsed?
Laki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.