Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2012, 08:26 AM   #1 
asukabetta
Member
 
asukabetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
An idea for cycling.

I know I ask in another thread, but I had a thought. Can I cycle a smaller tank, then transfer the filter to the main tank? That way my fish can live in the bigger tank already and I do not risk killing any fish with a fishless cycle with food.

My the end of the week I should have the water testing kit so I will be able to start soon.

I also need to know the params that will tell me when the tank has been cycled.
asukabetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:28 AM   #2 
registereduser
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
That is how to instantly cycle a tank. It's called "seeding" the tank (with established BB). You might want to put about 5-10 pellets in the new tank in order for the BB in the filter to have some ammonia to eat. Do this a few days before adding fish.
registereduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:10 AM   #3 
asukabetta
Member
 
asukabetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by registereduser View Post
That is how to instantly cycle a tank. It's called "seeding" the tank (with established BB). You might want to put about 5-10 pellets in the new tank in order for the BB in the filter to have some ammonia to eat. Do this a few days before adding fish.
So i can put it on a non cycled tank, cycle the filter (i know most bacteria lives there) then transfer the cycled filter to the main tank (that will already have fish?)
asukabetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:34 AM   #4 
registereduser
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by asukabetta View Post
So i can put it on a non cycled tank, cycle the filter (i know most bacteria lives there) then transfer the cycled filter to the main tank (that will already have fish?)
So you want to bring the entire filter to the new tank? I don't see why not. There will be plenty of ammonia from the fish there for the BB to eat.
registereduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 10:07 AM   #5 
asukabetta
Member
 
asukabetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by registereduser View Post
So you want to bring the entire filter to the new tank? I don't see why not. There will be plenty of ammonia from the fish there for the BB to eat.

cool thanks so much!!! :D I was worried!
asukabetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 03:41 PM   #6 
Wendyjo
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Yes - you can move the whole cycled filter over to the tank with the fish in it. How many fish are in it - just one?

You will know the tank is done cycling when you have 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, and readable nitrates for a few days in a row even when the source of ammonia is still there.
Wendyjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 01:55 AM   #7 
Shrimpsta
New Member
 
Shrimpsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I had the same idea. xD
Shrimpsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good idea or dumb idea? registereduser Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 10 09-23-2012 11:21 AM
Tankmates in 10 gallon? Good idea or bad idea? : ) littlegreen Betta Fish Compatibility 2 06-28-2012 03:49 PM
Outdoor Garden Bettas, good idea / bad idea coder14 Journals 1 06-13-2012 02:29 PM
Idea for cycling seeding?? freemike Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 6 03-30-2012 01:49 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.