Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2012, 08:55 AM   #11 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by shellieca View Post
The flow & cycling are two different things or at least to me they are.
Do you think my hypothetical situation is enough to take care of the bioload?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:57 AM   #12 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
Bettas have a small Bioload. If you you want extra filtering ideas check out my filter plant thread.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:19 AM   #13 
shellieca
Reference Team
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
Yes. I have the filters on my 3 10g & 5.5 tanks baffled considerably with sponge in the intake arm & I have no water issues.
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:23 AM   #14 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
I dont even need a filter.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:23 AM   #15 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by shellieca View Post
Yes. I have the filters on my 3 10g & 5.5 tanks baffled considerably with sponge in the intake arm & I have no water issues.
Oh! Lol never thought of putting sponge in the intake arm! So your flow is just like a drip huh?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:26 AM   #16 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
My filter in my twenty has 4 stages it used to be 3 but added one. My ten gallon came with one stage and I added another stage.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:29 AM   #17 
shellieca
Reference Team
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
more than a drip but considerably less than full force, its a VERY low flow. It was down to a little more than a drip when I first did it but I thought that was too low so I adjusted the sponge. If I could upload from my iPhone I'd post a video but I think than can only be done on a computer.
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:32 AM   #18 
mahi
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I think it is recommended to have a flow rate that cycles the tank volume 4 times per hour.

I think if you have lots of plants and a low bioload, you might get away with less.

You could always try it and see if you can get it cycled or stable. I would probably test the water every day for a couple of months, to see if I could trust the filter...
mahi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:33 AM   #19 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
Live plants can make up for almost anything.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 09:38 AM   #20 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by shellieca View Post
more than a drip but considerably less than full force, its a VERY low flow. It was down to a little more than a drip when I first did it but I thought that was too low so I adjusted the sponge. If I could upload from my iPhone I'd post a video but I think than can only be done on a computer.
If you could figure out how to post a video that would be great. Either way thanks for your help :)
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you cycle a filter and move it to another tank? GFarra Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 7 09-20-2012 08:45 PM
Do you NEED a filter to cycle a tank? Sheldon31 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 05-11-2012 10:26 PM
Can a tank without a filter cycle? Hikari Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 19 10-11-2011 09:21 PM
Slow down filter flow in Marineland Eclipse Three Gallon Tank? Kittycosmos Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 04-12-2011 01:52 PM
Mini Bow Quiet Flow Filter - too much flow Newtonbetta Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 11-13-2010 11:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.