Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2012, 03:42 PM   #31 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by finnfinnfriend View Post
Yeah, like I said I have that same barrel thing and it's fine. I looked at shellieca's profile and it looks like you are bullying her. Please leave her alone Choclate.
I am not bullying her. I am scared that her fish will get there scales ripped off or eaton.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:55 PM   #32 
RandyTheBettaFish
Member
 
RandyTheBettaFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan, USA
Chocolate you are bullying Shellieca. It's against the rules, so stop.
RandyTheBettaFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:17 AM   #33 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hallyx View Post
It's the size of the bacteria colony balanced with the amount of food (ammonia/nitrite) you can "flow" over them.

With a small colony, use high flow. If you want low flow, develop a large colony in a large sponge.
So the more surface area in the media, the less flow is needed?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 05:41 AM   #34 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Quote:
Originally Posted by finnfinnfriend View Post
So the more surface area in the media, the less flow is needed?
Exactly.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:22 AM   #35 
shellieca
Reference Team
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChoclateBetta View Post
I am not bullying her. I am scared that her fish will get there scales ripped off or eaton.
Chocolate, I understand you're concern & it is appreciated. I know the risk of having the CAE's; that is why I am very diligent about keeping an eye on what is happening within my tank. You're not bullying, not what I consider to be bullying, but you don't have to keep repeating something when I've said I understand & am fully aware of the risk.

Everyone,
Sorry, to hijack the thread for this. Thank you for speaking up on my behalf.
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:56 AM   #36 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
@Hallyx: Thanks!

@shellieca: It's totally fine. It's just in my nature to stand up for justice lol. Sorry if I stuck my nose in where it didn't belong.
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:11 PM   #37 
JAGalletta
New Member
 
JAGalletta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Jersey
If you think about it:

No sponge = limited surface area of filter media for bacterial growth = high flow is required

With sponge = more surface area for bacteria = lower flow over filter media is required

With a lot of sponge = a ton of surface area for bacteria to grow = very low flow over a large amount of bacteria to keep ammonia/nitrites processed.


Using a sponge to reduce water flow seems to be a direct relationship that takes care of itself, i.e. the size of the sponge will slow down your flow in a proper amount to maintain the cycle while providing more surface area for you BB.

Think of an air powered sponge filter: Large sponge, low flow created by rising air bubbles, large surface area for BB to process waste.
Like this:
JAGalletta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 05:18 PM   #38 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by shellieca View Post
Chocolate, I understand you're concern & it is appreciated. I know the risk of having the CAE's; that is why I am very diligent about keeping an eye on what is happening within my tank. You're not bullying, not what I consider to be bullying, but you don't have to keep repeating something when I've said I understand & am fully aware of the risk.

Everyone,
Sorry, to hijack the thread for this. Thank you for speaking up on my behalf.
Okay I hope they do well the CAEs in your picture are adorible.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you cycle a filter and move it to another tank? GFarra Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 7 09-20-2012 08:45 PM
Do you NEED a filter to cycle a tank? Sheldon31 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 05-11-2012 10:26 PM
Can a tank without a filter cycle? Hikari Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 19 10-11-2011 09:21 PM
Slow down filter flow in Marineland Eclipse Three Gallon Tank? Kittycosmos Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 04-12-2011 01:52 PM
Mini Bow Quiet Flow Filter - too much flow Newtonbetta Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 11-13-2010 11:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.