Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2012, 07:50 PM   #1 
MadameDesu
Member
 
MadameDesu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Aquatech 5-15 or Sponge Filter?

I posted about this yesterday, but I got the Aquaculture 10gal kit for Christmas. Woo-hoo!

But as most of us know, the kits aren't perfect and I'm left figuring out what to do with something called and Aquatech 5-15 Power Filter. I'm guessing that the word "power" doesn't mean good things for betta fins ...
So, I think I have two options here.

1) Use the power filter, replace the cartridge with an Aquaclear sponge, and baffle the heck outta it.

2) Get a sponge filter, preferably the Hydro Pro II and use it with my old Whisper 3i air pump.

I've been wanting to use sponge filters when I get new fish and I'll have to decide which way I want to do it. My only reservation deals with the mechanical filtration. Once upon a time, I replaced my Whisper 3i's cartridge with an Aquaclear sponge and the water got really gross really fast. Maybe it was the wrong size. I dunno.

Anyways, out of the two options I'm considering, which do you all think is best?

Thanks in advance!
MadameDesu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:12 PM   #2 
angelfish11788
Member
 
angelfish11788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
IMO, id go with a sponge, but i like to fiddle to, so to save some cash id mess with the aquatech. I am not fan of them. but id still mess with it. though sponge filter are super cheap aswell, so IMO it is up in the air and i am no help, lol. though i dont like my aquatech so my boy has a sponge instead of that filter.
angelfish11788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:20 PM   #3 
colorxmexravyne
Member
 
colorxmexravyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
I used to have the same filter (Aqua Tech 5-15) but I ended up switching it out with an Aquaclear 20. The Aqua Tech was just too strong for my betta, no matter what I did to baffle it. What I didn't try is putting a pre-filter sponge in the intake. I didn't know that was an option back then. Also, I have a five gallon tank as opposed to a ten, so you might have better luck than I did. However, if nothing else works, I highly recommend the Aquaclear 20. (:
colorxmexravyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:27 PM   #4 
MadameDesu
Member
 
MadameDesu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelfish11788 View Post
IMO, id go with a sponge, but i like to fiddle to, so to save some cash id mess with the aquatech. I am not fan of them. but id still mess with it. though sponge filter are super cheap aswell, so IMO it is up in the air and i am no help, lol. though i dont like my aquatech so my boy has a sponge instead of that filter.
I'm all about saving money where I can, so that's why I was considering messing with it.

Does your sponge filter provide good mechanical filtration?
MadameDesu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 06:12 PM   #5 
angelfish11788
Member
 
angelfish11788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadameDesu View Post
I'm all about saving money where I can, so that's why I was considering messing with it.

Does your sponge filter provide good mechanical filtration?

I do 50% WC and an occasionly 25% weekly on my bettas. All of my bettas except 2 are on sponge filters with gang valves.if i messing with my 75 or 125(beside my betta disply) I will stir up the desired tank and give it a little more intake flow on the valve, It upsets my bettas but i only do it for a minute or 2 does great at picking up particles. so IMO it depends on flow. I am all for sponge filters.
angelfish11788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 06:18 PM   #6 
MadameDesu
Member
 
MadameDesu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
What kind of air pump do you use in your tanks?
MadameDesu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 06:38 PM   #7 
aemaki09
Member
 
aemaki09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Central, OH
I'd go with the sponge filter. I absolutely love the ones I have. They are pretty cheap too. I think mine cost like $5
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 07:41 PM   #8 
angelfish11788
Member
 
angelfish11788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadameDesu View Post
What kind of air pump do you use in your tanks?

I run the fluval, think it is the 150-180 gallon one, I have a tetra deep 200 aswell, those things are damn near workhorses, closest thing to the best before going to a pond filter. to be honest, if you are running 2-3, i good 50-70 gallon petco or smart brand would be fine.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/251196374021...84.m1423.l2649

great filter. you can get one that have suctions to the side, but these do great. any other questions just ask, I am a filter junkie. lol

i am setting up a 500 +gallon soon and and filtration is the best part
angelfish11788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:08 PM   #9 
MadameDesu
Member
 
MadameDesu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelfish11788 View Post
I run the fluval, think it is the 150-180 gallon one, I have a tetra deep 200 aswell, those things are damn near workhorses, closest thing to the best before going to a pond filter. to be honest, if you are running 2-3, i good 50-70 gallon petco or smart brand would be fine.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/251196374021...84.m1423.l2649

great filter. you can get one that have suctions to the side, but these do great. any other questions just ask, I am a filter junkie. lol

i am setting up a 500 +gallon soon and and filtration is the best part
Ohh ooo I like that one. It's for 5 gals though, so maybe I could put two of those in my 10 gal?
MadameDesu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 09:05 PM   #10 
angelfish11788
Member
 
angelfish11788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
not sure what else he has, but he probably has one up to 10 for a little cheaper, anyway glad i could help
angelfish11788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aqueon 2.5 filter or sponge filter? bankruptjojo Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 03-06-2012 05:27 PM
Converting a normal filter into a sponge filter? Bambi Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 10-29-2011 09:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.