Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2012, 06:18 PM   #1 
johnny151
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NJ
How do you transition from old-new filter?

I had a Tetra Whisper 10I for almost a year now, and while it does a great job at filtering, the flow is to overwhelming for my Betta. I've been desperately trying to find a filter thats Betta friendly and I finally have.
I can't wait to change filters since my pet has to stay in or around his cave due to strong flow.
I know you can't just remove the old filter and plug in the new 1 as it'll re cycle the tank and harm the fish. The beneficial bacteria would also be removed.

So how do I go from old-new without ruining anything?
I know I could just put the old filter media into the new 1 but its not the same brand, the media won't fit into the new 1.

I was told i can run both filters at the sametime, but I never heard of this. Plz help =)
johnny151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 06:48 PM   #2 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
I just swap.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:15 PM   #3 
johnny151
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChoclateBetta View Post
I just swap.
You didn't experience anything negative by just swapping filters?
I was told doing so was bad and could potentially kill your fish. if its ok to just switch then i might just do that. I just want to be sure that my pet won't get hurt from water spike or something
johnny151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:22 PM   #4 
aemaki09
Member
 
aemaki09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Central, OH
You should stick the new filter's media in or very near to the old filter for a few days, or more if you want, so benificial bacteria can attach to it, then you swap it
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:09 PM   #5 
johnny151
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by aemaki09 View Post
You should stick the new filter's media in or very near to the old filter for a few days, or more if you want, so benificial bacteria can attach to it, then you swap it
My old filter has a sponge on a frame, i was wondering if i can remove the sponge and place it in the new filter and be able to use it right away?
johnny151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:11 PM   #6 
Kithy
Member
 
Kithy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
I kept all the media the same. You might go through a mini cycle so be watchful on your numbers.

One of my filters had a black sponge thing in it that I shoved into a new filter along with the carbon thing.
Kithy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:26 PM   #7 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny151 View Post
You didn't experience anything negative by just swapping filters?
I was told doing so was bad and could potentially kill your fish. if its ok to just switch then i might just do that. I just want to be sure that my pet won't get hurt from water spike or something
The only tank to have its filter changed is my 20. It has had that twice. I use many plants in the filter and tank.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:56 PM   #8 
Virto
New Member
 
Virto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Elgin, IL
Have you considered baffling the filter intake and output to reduce the flow?

If you swap filters, place your current cartridge in the new filter. If it won't fit, feel free to cut it so that it will fit on top or underneath the new filter pad.

Barring that, take the existing filter media and squeeze it out onto the new filter. It won't be quite as good, but it's sure better than starting with a totally unseeded pad.

Some of us have used the same filter pad for a loooong time. As long as it's not actively falling apart, it's pretty much OK to use.
Virto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 04:02 PM   #9 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
I change my filter pad often. Peace lilies love to rip them up.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:38 PM   #10 
sainthogan
Member
 
sainthogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Red River, NM
I have that filter as well, and on the very bottom of mine there is a knob that I can slide to adjust the flow from fast which is the default setting to slow, and anywhere in between. Check to see if yours has that as well. I've got mine set to slow, and then I have to have the water just almost touching the lip of the water output to keep the surface water slow.
sainthogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transition from bad care to proper care mellalune Betta Fish Care 3 11-01-2010 10:56 PM
Transition! SaylorKennedy Betta Fish Care 14 10-23-2009 04:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.