Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2013, 10:38 PM   #1 
jjposko
New Member
 
jjposko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cleveland, OH
Old Tank Question

I bought a betta for my son this xmas and now I have the itch to put up a tank again. I pulled out my 29 gal after sitting for about 12yrs. Seams are discolored but not cracked or brittle. I have had it filled for the past 72hrs and no leaks. Safe to setup or do i need to let it sit for a few more days?

Any feedback is appreciated.

Great site btw!
jjposko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:44 PM   #2 
aemaki09
Member
 
aemaki09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Central, OH
72 hours is a good amount of time for a leak test. If it were me though, with as long as its been sitting, I'd go re-seal everything. Rather be safe than sorry right? and at the moment you have nothing in it other than water so it wouldnt be too much work
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:59 PM   #3 
jjposko
New Member
 
jjposko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cleveland, OH
How hard is it to reseal? Should I remove all seams and reseal with aquarium sealant?
jjposko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:45 AM   #4 
aemaki09
Member
 
aemaki09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Central, OH
its not that hard, just a little time consuming. you'd have to remove all the sealant that you can with a razor blade, and then get some aquarium safe silicone and put it where you removed the old stuff and wait for it to harden.
Its not necessary to do this since your tank is currently holding water, but since its been so long since it's had water in it I'd definitely recommend it just in case theres a weak seal in there somewhere, I'd rather take some time now than possibly come home eventually to a flood.
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:48 AM   #5 
jjposko
New Member
 
jjposko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cleveland, OH
Thanks for the info. I would rather be safe than sorry as well.
jjposko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 01:49 AM   #6 
aemaki09
Member
 
aemaki09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Central, OH
Goodluck with it!
I'm sure you could find a YouTube video about how exactly to do it since I didn't do the best job ever in explaining it
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:12 PM   #7 
jjposko
New Member
 
jjposko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cleveland, OH


Removed all silcone, vacuumed, wiped down with acetone and taped.

Will recheck tomorrow and give it one more wipe down then seal.
jjposko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:33 PM   #8 
aemaki09
Member
 
aemaki09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Central, OH
Looks like your doing a great job with it!!
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.