Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2013, 07:46 PM   #1 
ICEAL
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles, California
Do i need to cycle the breeding tank?

Do i need to cycle the breeding tank?

and on what parameters does need it be?
ICEAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:14 PM   #2 
indjo
TFK Moderator
 
indjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
Not really. You will need to do lots of water changes which will destroy the cycle. If you breed in a big tank cycled tank/water might reduce water changes during the first week but eventually you will need to reduce stunting hormones.
indjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 11:29 PM   #3 
Jayloo
Member
 
Jayloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: WV
Add lots of plants and run a corner filter for a couple data before adding your pair. The plants will create food for babies and the filter will become full of good bacteria and help keep ammonia/nitrite/nitrate levels down. For more info on tank cycling... Google the nitrogen cycle. It will help you understand. But not only is the tank prettier with plants... It is healthier.
Jayloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how long to cycle tank with filter from established tank? charlotte Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 1 05-23-2012 12:41 PM
About To Cycle My Tank BettaMan Betta Fish Care 15 10-13-2010 07:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.