Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2013, 04:47 PM   #1 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
ph liquid test question

What's the difference between high range pH and pH???
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 04:56 PM   #2 
tekkguy
Member
 
tekkguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
The regular pH test only goes so high. There's a difference in the chemicals (or the concentration of chemicals?) in the high range test.

If your pH tests on (and especially above!) the high end of the regular test, test it with the high range one to find out how high it is.
tekkguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 10:33 PM   #3 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
Than can someone please explain this?

kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 11:14 PM   #4 
ryancalif
Member
 
ryancalif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mojave Desert, California
^ Looks like someone else had a similar problem. http://www.fishlore.com/fishforum/fr...nreadable.html

I would try retesting.. make sure to rinse the vial and cap in aquarium water after testing with the normal pH solution.

Last edited by ryancalif; 03-20-2013 at 11:20 PM.
ryancalif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 11:56 PM   #5 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
I actually have 5 test tubes so they where tested at the same time in different clean tubes. I will re clean the test tubes and re test
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:27 AM   #6 
ryancalif
Member
 
ryancalif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mojave Desert, California
Kyle,

Try testing your tap water using both the low- and high- pH test solutions. Let us know what your results are.

We can at least find out if one (or both) of your pH solutions has gone bad.
ryancalif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 02:27 PM   #7 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
Tested the tap water

Than I rinsed everything really good an tested the tank
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 03:31 PM   #8 
ryancalif
Member
 
ryancalif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mojave Desert, California
Your tap water is 8.4? I have a hard time believing that... I suppose it's possible depending on the source of your water, but that's quite high.

The only conclusion I can draw from this, assuming your tap water is actually normal (6.8-7.4), is that your test solutions have gone bad. At least the pH bottles.

You might want to buy a cheap pH-only test kit at the store and test your tap water with it. If it still reads high, let us know.

I'm guessing you've already checked the expiration date on your API kit?

Last edited by ryancalif; 03-21-2013 at 03:34 PM.
ryancalif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 04:00 PM   #9 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
2017. My great LFS has the individual bottles for 4 dollars I will get one
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.