Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2013, 04:56 PM   #11 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
So will even a brand new setup be fine without carbon?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:04 PM   #12 
registereduser
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I don't see why not, what kind of filter do you have?

oh I see a sponge filter. I don't know how those work, is there a place for carbon?

Last edited by registereduser; 03-25-2013 at 05:06 PM.
registereduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:17 PM   #13 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by registereduser View Post
I don't see why not, what kind of filter do you have?

oh I see a sponge filter. I don't know how those work, is there a place for carbon?
Not really, although you can put some on the inside if you really wanted to...The only concern I had about a new setup is chemcals maybe left over from manufacturing, but I guess rinsing everything out enough before use is good enough?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:44 PM   #14 
tekkguy
Member
 
tekkguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Carbon is generally included with new tank setups from the manufacturers because it helps the new tank's cloudiness issues ... makes someone less likely to blame the manufacturer because they don't understand new tank "issues" that come up.
tekkguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 05:55 PM   #15 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by tekkguy View Post
Carbon is generally included with new tank setups from the manufacturers because it helps the new tank's cloudiness issues ... makes someone less likely to blame the manufacturer because they don't understand new tank "issues" that come up.
But it's not necessary in a new setup?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 06:03 PM   #16 
LebronTheBetta
Member
 
LebronTheBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: MD
The setup will be fine without carbon, new or not.
I use carbon because it came with my AC30, my tank is also kinda cloudy without it.
LebronTheBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 08:42 PM   #17 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Thank you all :)
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 10:40 PM   #18 
ryancalif
Member
 
ryancalif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mojave Desert, California
If you're talking about the carbon in filter cartridges, I don't bother replacing it.

However, I do make my own carbon filters for my tank using pantyhose and a cheap tub of activated carbon from the store. It's a good way to remove any harmful chemicals from the water that water conditioner doesn't take care of. It also acts as a second line of defense against chlorine and chloramines, and helps to remove the smell from the water.

While carbon isn't needed, per se, it's an added bonus to your aquarium. I choose to use carbon since it's relative cheap. A big tub of it costs about $7 and lasts almost a year.
ryancalif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 01:25 AM   #19 
Tikibirds
Member
 
Tikibirds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warrensburg, NY
Quote:
oh I see a sponge filter. I don't know how those work, is there a place for carbon?
No - sponge filters only do mechanical and bilogical filtration.

Sponge filters work by aquarium water being drawn thru the porous sponge where debris is trapped mechanically. As well aerobic bacteria remove nitrogenous wastes such as ammonia and nitrites.
Water is moved thru the sponge media via a lift caused by air bubbles form an air pump attached to the filter via air line tubing or by a power head attached to the top of the lift tube.
Simply put, a Sponge Filter uses a water pump to pull or push water through the pores in the sponge or an air pump to create a suction that does similar.

The pores then trap debris of varying size where it can be rinsed or squeezed out & also these pores have a a considerable amount of area where aerobic bacteria eventually propagate.

http://americanaquariumproducts.com/...iltration.html

I have one in my 20G along with an aqueon 10
Tikibirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Had an argument caljamsam Betta Fish Care 50 01-01-2013 08:15 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.