Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2013, 07:14 PM   #1 
BarefootPixie
Member
 
BarefootPixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Will changing my substrate disrupt my cycle?

I have a cycled 2.5 that Mokiki shares with 2 apple snails. Mokiki poops like CRAZY so I siphon his poop out every day. The problem is that in his old tank, the gravel was dark and I could easily see the poop to get it out. In this tank the gravel is multicolored and the poop blends in, so no matter how hard I look for it I always miss some and it fouls the water really fast. I'm thinking about changing the substrate so I can see the poop better and get it all out, but I don't know if it will crash my tank if I replace it. Will it be enough to just keep some old water and not rinse the plants or filter media?
BarefootPixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 08:33 PM   #2 
jadaBlu
Member
 
jadaBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest
I am interested to see the answer as well as I just got a new tank and I was thinking about whether I should start the cycle with substrate in. In my case I want to use different colors of substrate for each divided section. So I am wondering how adding or changing substrate affects it. I agree with you about the natural color substrate. I don't think I will use it again in my next tank.
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 08:47 PM   #3 
kyle89
Member
 
kyle89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: south central PA
In a cycled tank a lot of the benifical bacteria is in the filter. As long as its established I wouldn't see it hurting the cycle. Adding the substrate while cycling a tank is fine. The only thing that may change is pH depending on the type of gravel used
kyle89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 08:52 PM   #4 
BarefootPixie
Member
 
BarefootPixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyle89 View Post
In a cycled tank a lot of the benifical bacteria is in the filter. As long as its established I wouldn't see it hurting the cycle. Adding the substrate while cycling a tank is fine. The only thing that may change is pH depending on the type of gravel used
Thanks! I just wanted to make sure I wasn't dooming Mokiki and the snails by getting new substrate. XD I'm sure they'll be relieved to have poopless water again!
BarefootPixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 08:58 PM   #5 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator
 
Perseusmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
I want to change mine too, I was thinking of just replacing it one section at a time so I will not lose that much BB.
Perseusmom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 09:59 PM   #6 
Tikibirds
Member
 
Tikibirds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warrensburg, NY
There is some bacteria on the substrate, wall and decor but most will be in on the filter cartridge. Changing the substrate shouldnt do too much damage. At least in a larger thank it wouldn't. Not sure if size of the tank makes a difference
Tikibirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 07:39 AM   #7 
Polkadot
Member
 
Polkadot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Australia
It might cause a bacterial bloom.
Polkadot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 09:07 AM   #8 
ryancalif
Member
 
ryancalif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Mojave Desert, California
Here's a nicely organized article on the topic.

http://freshaquarium.about.com/od/ma...angegravel.htm
ryancalif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 01:35 PM   #9 
BarefootPixie
Member
 
BarefootPixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryancalif View Post
Here's a nicely organized article on the topic.

http://freshaquarium.about.com/od/ma...angegravel.htm
Very informative, thank you! :) I think I'll go ahead with the change. I'll post pics when it's finished!
BarefootPixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 04:35 PM   #10 
BarefootPixie
Member
 
BarefootPixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
The pics aren't that great because I took them with my phone, but here they are!

Whole tank

Mokiki in all his glory! He refused to flare for the camera, though.
I did have an issue with a bacterial bloom making the water a bit cloudy but it's mostly cleared up now.
BarefootPixie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, gravel, substrate

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Substrate Unity Betta Fish Care 18 08-02-2012 01:08 PM
Changing substrate adams87 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 2 12-15-2011 04:28 AM
Changing Substrate Welsh Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 6 05-11-2010 03:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.