Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-25-2013, 06:18 PM   #21 
adambiser
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
OK, here are the parameters:

New, unconditioned tap:
Nitrites/Nitrates: 0
Hardness: 25
Chlorine: 0
Alkalinity: 20
pH: 7.2
Ammonia: 0.5

Water in which a betta has lived for around 42 hours. This is tap water that has been conditioned with Seachem Prime. 8 drops for 1 gallon.
Nitrites/Nitrates: 0
Hardness: 25
Chlorine: 0
Alkalinity: 40
pH; 6.8
Ammonia: 0.5

These were done using test strips.

I don't understand why there is any ammonia since that is more than the usual amount of Prime and it has been (slightly) less than 48 hours, so it should still be in effect.

It's worth noting that the bettas are doing fine in this water, slightly lethargic, but nowhere near as bad as it has been. The redness disappeared after this particular water change.

The next time I see the redness, I test that water. I don't know why I didn't do that earlier. I think it was just the panic at seeing it happen.
adambiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 09:51 PM   #22 
sunlight
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I am wondering if it really better to switch to spring water? I know there is not a lot of minerals but it still better. I know a few people were using it. Or maybe just mix tap water with spring water 50/50?
sunlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 09:54 PM   #23 
ANHEL123
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia
I have a few bettas at the office i am working at. I think about 2 years ago i mixed tap water with DeerPark spring water like probably 50/50 and it was fine , i still have those bettas. But the water didn't have ammonia though.
ANHEL123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:24 PM   #24 
Starfish1
Member
 
Starfish1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
The only thing I can think of is double checking the water with a liquid test kit, maybe their strips aren't reliable.

And then I'd just use bottled water if you still get the same results.

Have you always been putting 8 drops per gallon in? With prime you only need 2 drops per gallon. Could that be it?
Starfish1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:52 PM   #25 
adambiser
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
I only started using 8 drops because that was the only way I could seem to add the fish to the tap water without their fins disappearing. I started with 2, but that wasn't enough.
adambiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 08:31 AM   #26 
ANHEL123
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia
I don't think it can harm the fish though using more drops. I do it a lot of the time.
ANHEL123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Call Of Duty? Ariel1719 The Lounge 1 09-09-2010 10:30 PM
Close Call Nikita Betta Chat 0 09-03-2010 11:09 PM
What would you call this? Saddlepatch Betta Chat 13 08-16-2010 07:26 PM
Just got the call...;) DragonFish Betta Fish Care 25 01-10-2010 11:17 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.