Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2009, 09:48 AM   #1 
ashleyALE
New Member
 
ashleyALE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Carolina
Water Testing

So the two guys I brought home from WalMart went into an uncycled 10gal.

I know how strict water changes should be in uncycled tanks and in a 10 gal that's just not easy every day so I decided to cycle the tank slowly with the two fish and researched using a product called "Stability".

I'm sure most of you have heard of it or used it. I set the tank up 3 days ago and have been testing the water daily while using Stability.

I also use Stress Coat and Aquarium Salt. The tank is heated and uses a filter.

The first time I set up an aquarium and cycled it was purely by dumb luck. I had a couple of Platies and never really new about the cycling of tanks, just that water changes, salt and water conditioner were good. By the time I got curious about aquariums and further care for them, my tank was already cycled. This is the only time I've done it using a Water Testing Kit and actually checking parameters.

This is where I'm confused. Here are my readings from day one.

Day 1: New Tank, Testing done prior to starting Stability.

pH: 7.6
Ammonia: 1ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 0ppm
Temp: 80F



Day 2: Testing done after 2nd dose of Stability.

pH: 7.2
Ammonia: 1ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 0ppm
Temp: 78F



Day 3: Testing done prior to 3rd dose of Stability.
(Water was slightly cloudy when I woke up)

pH: 7.0
Ammonia: .25ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 0ppm
Temp: 78F



Day 3: (2nd Test Today) Testing done after 3rd dose of Stability and after a 10% Water Change.

pH: 7.0
Ammonia: 0ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 0ppm
Temp: 78F



I guess I expected something to be higher, whether it's Ammonia or Nitrites at least. I'm still new to this so I don't really know. Is the tank still just two new to have developed an Ammonia build up yet?
ashleyALE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 06:45 PM   #2 
Scienceluvr8
Member
 
Scienceluvr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Texas
I would think so, because what I know of from the cycling process, the ammonia level must first increase, and once it resettles back to 0, that is when its been cycled thoroughly....yeah, I think it just takes some time, just wait a little, or you could add ammonia yourself
Scienceluvr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 06:01 PM   #3 
jeaninel
Member
 
jeaninel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northern California
So you have 2 fish in a 10 gallon? Since you have no nitrate reading your tank is not cycled yet. I don't think it would cycle that fast anyway. I've never used Stability so I can't comment on its effectiveness. I guess it's similar to something like Cycle? Did you try testing your tap water for an ammonia reading? I would just keep testing daily and do water changes when needed. You'll see ammonia rise then fall, then nitrites will rise and fall and you will have some reading for nitrates. When you have 0 ammonia and 0 nitrites (without having to do water changes to keep it at 0) and some reading for nitrates then your tank is fully cycled.
jeaninel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 10:28 PM   #4 
ashleyALE
New Member
 
ashleyALE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Carolina
yes, 2 in a 10gal.

thank you :]
ashleyALE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Testing the water jemma21 Betta Fish Care 6 09-09-2009 05:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.