Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2013, 12:05 AM   #1 
jadaBlu
Member
 
jadaBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest
How much Tetra safestart for 5 gallons?

I have a tank that for unknown reasons was emitting a moldy smell. I did some water changes and it remained so I've broken down the tank I am starting over. So I am adding Safe Start. The bottle is for 75 gallons how much should I add for 5 gallons?
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 09:47 AM   #2 
slug61
Member
 
slug61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadaBlu View Post
I have a tank that for unknown reasons was emitting a moldy smell. I did some water changes and it remained so I've broken down the tank I am starting over. So I am adding Safe Start. The bottle is for 75 gallons how much should I add for 5 gallons?
Well, since you have such a large bottle of SafeStart, I would add 1/5th of the bottle...enough for 15 gallons....then, in 4 or 5 days add another 1/5th bottle...
This method seems to really jumpstart the cycle, rather than just the 1 dosage.
slug61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 02:11 PM   #3 
jadaBlu
Member
 
jadaBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest
I have more tanks to cycle will less over a period do the job? I could buy more I kind of thought this would cover most of my tanks.
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 02:43 PM   #4 
slug61
Member
 
slug61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadaBlu View Post
I have more tanks to cycle will less over a period do the job? I could buy more I kind of thought this would cover most of my tanks.
Well, usually you would add at least double, if not triple the size of your tank.
But, you could do triple split into 2 doses.

I think it works better with a larger dose. It says you can't overdose, but you can under-dose.
slug61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 03:58 PM   #5 
Rana
Member
 
Rana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: MA & VT
Also, something I learned from an email with the company itself is to make sure you wait 24hrs after your last water change to add the TSS, and then wait a few days before doing another change. Not only does this let some ammonia build up for the bacteria to use, but many water conditioners will bind to the bacteria's coating and make it useless.
Rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tetra Safestart in a 5g...? :) mermaid77 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 8 03-23-2013 01:58 AM
Tetra safestart battered Betta Fish Classifieds 2 08-25-2012 05:04 PM
Have you used Tetra SafeStart? freemike Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 0 03-05-2012 09:46 PM
Tetra Safestart - Anybody used this before? Phether Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 06-09-2010 03:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.