Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-16-2009, 03:43 PM   #1 
ashleyALE
New Member
 
ashleyALE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Carolina
Question!

Haven't been on in a while, but it's nice to be back :]

Back in mid June, I had 2 of my bettas in a divided, filtered, heated 10gal. It was uncycled and I did regular water changes. Tried using Stability to cycle the tank with the fish in it. It went well until one of the fish came down with Ick so I removed BOTH fish from the 10gal into seperate bowls with no filtration. They have been there since with very regular water changes and have actually remained very happy.

I was doing water testing a couple of weeks before the Ick started so I assumed that the fish had been in the tank long enough to create some waste and kick the nitrogen cycle into gear (as long as I didn't do any more water changes).

Here are the measurements:

6/15
Day 2 of Stability treatment
pH: 7.2
Ammonia: 1.0ppm
Nitrites: 0ppm
Nitrates: 0ppm

6/16
Prior to 3rd dose of Stability
Water is slightly cloudy
pH: 7.0
Ammonia: 0.25ppm
Nitrites: 0ppm
Nitrates: 0ppm

After 3rd dose of Stability, same day
pH: 7.0
Ammonia: 0ppm
Nitrites: 0ppm
Nitrates: 0ppm

6/18
pH: 7.0
Ammonia: 0ppm
Nitrites: 0ppm
Nitrates: 0ppm

No testing for a while (No fish in the tank)

7/8
pH: 6.0
Ammonia: 0ppm
Nitrites: 0.25ppm
Nitrates: 0ppm

I assumed, with Nitrites being up and Ammonia down, that the cycle was moving along. I did no other testing until today. There have been NO changes made to the tank with the exception of adding conditioned water when a lot of evaporated.

Today's measurements:
pH: 6.6
Ammonia: 1.0ppm
Nitrites: 0ppm
Nitrates: 0ppm

So what's the deal? Did it just stop cycling or what?
Thanks in advance!
ashleyALE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 04:55 PM   #2 
ElmoFish
New Member
 
ElmoFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Saint John, NB
I'm no expert on cycling, but I have done a lot of research, and in order for the cycle to complete it needs a constant source of ammonia to feed the bacteria cultures, to keep the cycle going and get the correct bacteria formed, which means no fish = eventually the cycle stops.

Anyone feel free to correct me if I'm wrong..
ElmoFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 07:55 AM   #3 
Kim
Member
 
Kim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
You are correct. You need a constant source of ammonia or the bacteria will starve and die off which kills your cycle completely :(
Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 08:23 AM   #4 
ashleyALE
New Member
 
ashleyALE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Carolina
gotcha.

i guess somewhere in my brain i knew that. i had heard of people using a small amount of food in the tank everyday to continue with the ammonia but i didn't think about it.

lame on my part

thanks guys!
ashleyALE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 08:44 AM   #5 
neenjar
Member
 
neenjar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashleyALE View Post
gotcha.

i guess somewhere in my brain i knew that. i had heard of people using a small amount of food in the tank everyday to continue with the ammonia but i didn't think about it.

lame on my part

thanks guys!
Adding food to a fishless tank every day will keep the ammonia going. The other part is right, you need something there...

Last edited by neenjar; 08-17-2009 at 08:48 AM.
neenjar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 01:04 PM   #6 
RoseyD
New Member
 
RoseyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: malden, ma
I found it easier (and faster) to kickstart the cycle by using filter media from an already cycled tank...

example - I've been running 2 filters on my 20 gallon tank - when I started my 30 gal tank - I took one filter from the 20 gal - and put it on the 30 gal. within 2 days, my water was testing nitrites/nitrates (and yes ammonia)

I then added the filter I wanted to really use on the 30 gal. tank - (I bought it two days after the tank was set up) - and, right now - a week later, the tank is still running two filters - old plus new. - I tested the water last night - and, the 30 gallon after 1 week of being set up - is now testing as 0 ammonia, 0 Nitrites, 0 Nitrates.

In another month or so, I think that the 'new' filter will be fully seasoned with good bacteria - so then I will be able to remove the old filter from the 30 gallon and use it to 'cycle' any other new tank I will set up...
RoseyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Ken-chan and another question SasukePanther Betta Fish Care 4 10-08-2008 03:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.