Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
View Poll Results: Is substrate needed for a betta tank?
Yes 15 40.54%
Nope 22 59.46%
Voters: 37. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2013, 01:16 PM   #31 
MattsBettas
Reference Team
 
MattsBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
A filter is still way better, and provides water circulation over the bb.
MattsBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 02:55 PM   #32 
lissienen
Member
 
lissienen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Saginaw, MI
Yes, a filter does, and yes a fake plant does. Not saying it doesn't. I'm saying substrate gives you that whole bottom area of the tank in addition. Everybody has their preference and plus like I said; substrate lets you put in live plants: a filter doesn't.
lissienen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 07:17 PM   #33 
Haikuhug
New Member
 
Haikuhug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
I go with yes on the substrate. Maybe it's not 100% "necessary" but I think it looks better even than tanks with painted bottoms, is easier to keep clean and like lissienen said, allows for planted tanks which seem to be healthier overall - and my betta's love to play around and sleep on the leafs.
Haikuhug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 07:46 PM   #34 
RussellTheShihTzu
Reference Team
 
RussellTheShihTzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tennessee
+1 Haikuhug

One of mine rests in a dip in the substrate. Both like to rest on large Amazon Sword leaves and in Cabomba. They also like to swim in and out of the plants. None of this would be possible in a bare bottom tank. For my Bettas, substrate is necessary.
RussellTheShihTzu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 08:58 PM   #35 
Sylerwin
Member
 
Sylerwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
If cleaning is an issue--buy some fun fabric of choice and simply fold it under the aquarium so it shows through the bottom :)
Sylerwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 10:32 PM   #36 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
I don't think it's any easier to keep "clean". It will get as dirty as it gets....and that's that. I don't see why you would need to clean the poo out every day without substrate...there is just as much poo with or without it....
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 01:16 PM   #37 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Anyone?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 04:16 PM   #38 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Do betta fish naturally interact with substrate at all? Or in the wild do they mostly chill near the top?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 12:08 AM   #39 
cheylillymama
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Totally needed for me, since all my tanks are fully planted. :)
cheylillymama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:05 AM   #40 
lissienen
Member
 
lissienen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Saginaw, MI
Quote:
Originally Posted by finnfinnfriend View Post
Do betta fish naturally interact with substrate at all? Or in the wild do they mostly chill near the top?
If you're bringing the wild into it then yes it's necessary because substrate allows for plants to root and grow. There are floating plants that betta's enjoy, but the widest variety of plants that betta's get to interact with need to have places to grow a root system, especially since their natural habitat is mostly made up of shallower water systems that tend to be densely planted and they are not at all bare-bottomed. Fake plants can re-create the look, yes, but real plants can never be accurately mimicked even by silk, especially not the oxygen they kick out into the water.
lissienen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best substrate for betta's xShainax Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 05-22-2012 09:13 PM
Betta Help Needed thedaan Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies 4 10-07-2011 10:27 PM
Substrate for planted betta tank? vaygirl Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 11 01-18-2010 12:16 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.