Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-27-2013, 01:39 PM   #1 
DoctorWhoLuver
Member
 
DoctorWhoLuver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the TARDIS
Sponge Filter

Okay I have all my supplies set up for breeding and I have a new sponge filter. I realized that it has not been "pre-seeded" with beneficial bacteria.. is this alright?
DoctorWhoLuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 03:30 PM   #2 
shellieca
Member
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
When are you planning breeding? If the filter isn't seeded then you will be doing a fish IN cycle with a breeding pair and/or fry & I doubt that would be a good idea. Can you swap it with another filter or is that only sponge filter you have? Can you run it in an established tank for a few weeks?
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 05:00 PM   #3 
DoctorWhoLuver
Member
 
DoctorWhoLuver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the TARDIS
Yeah, it's my only sponge filter :( It's only been in my male's tank since Monday.. I was planning on breeding them by the end of this week. Is it possible to dip it in Tetra SafeStart or something like that? I can't believed that this completely slipped my mind X]
DoctorWhoLuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:22 PM   #4 
Myates
Member
 
Myates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I have never seeded a sponge going into a breeding tank, as I boil them between spawns and with the amount/size of water changes you will be doing on their tanks it will be hard to hold a steady cycle sometimes. Daily water changes of 50-75% like many do, a cycle will crash - and if a cycle crashes it will kill all the fish too quick for them to be saved. So I don't bother cycling.. I just let the BB grow on it's own while the babies are in there. Same in the grow out sponge filters.. just let it do it's own thing is how I do it. But every one does it different :)
Myates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:42 PM   #5 
DoctorWhoLuver
Member
 
DoctorWhoLuver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the TARDIS
haha okay. Thank you :)
DoctorWhoLuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 09:02 PM   #6 
LittleBettaFish
Member
 
LittleBettaFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Yep, I never seeded any of my sponges in my grow-outs. The pH in my tanks (less than 6) is too low to hold a cycle of any sort.

Ideally, you should be doing enough water changes on a grow-out that you are essentially performing the role of beneficial bacteria and removing any ammonia from the water.
LittleBettaFish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:10 PM   #7 
DoctorWhoLuver
Member
 
DoctorWhoLuver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the TARDIS
Ah thank you:) I had a mini heart attack before x]
DoctorWhoLuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whisper filter vs sponge filter love4bettas Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 16 05-11-2013 08:05 AM
Converting a normal filter into a sponge filter? Bambi Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 10-29-2011 09:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.