Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2013, 12:33 AM   #11 
lillyandquigly
Member
 
lillyandquigly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
does gravel work for a substrate?
lillyandquigly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 04:23 PM   #12 
RowdyBetta
Member
 
RowdyBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Land of Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows
I have sand substrate by the way. :3 Forgot to mention.
RowdyBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 04:49 PM   #13 
BittyB
Member
 
BittyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Las Vegas, NV
What I find funny is that Petco sells this as a plant for your betta and says to plop in in their bowl....when a majority of people probably don't have medium/high light, substrate, nutrients/co2. Well played corporate jerks. Will die on most people who buy it.
BittyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 05:55 PM   #14 
VJM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Definitely agree on the substarte and at least medium light, but I also have hairgrass growing in two pint size glass containers on my window sill. Zero water movement, zero fertilizers, just natural light. But it is sunny here.
VJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 06:00 PM   #15 
lovefordebbie
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
you guys have BIG tanks....
lovefordebbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 10:49 AM   #16 
Lucubration
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
I have DHG in two planted tanks that I'm still in the process of setting up. It's pretty hearty and has survived well with cruddy stock/ambient lighting, even grown a little bit, but since the Finnex FugeRays I have on order have been out of stock (for my tank sizes), I haven't had enough light to make them flourish.

I doubt you're going to kill it, though; heck, when some pieces drift loose they live just floating around on the surface until I pluck them out of replant them. XD
Lucubration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 11:33 AM   #17 
lillyandquigly
Member
 
lillyandquigly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
No one's answered my question, does gravel work for a substrate?
lillyandquigly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 12:59 PM   #18 
VJM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Not well, in the best of cases. DHG needs to send runners out, needs to be planted in small bunches of two or three blades, and is a heavy root feeder. All things that gravel doesn't do well with.
VJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 02:04 PM   #19 
Greylady
Member
 
Greylady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Aguacrazed...how do you keep your sand so white? Do you have any MTS to airate the airpockets or do you poke it or turn it? Mine has turn a dull beige even though I vacume but I usually dont turn it because I have MTS and I usually end up uprooting the plants if I mess with it too much.

PS I too have DHG, it was exteamly difficult to plant and tends to float up to the surface if messed with. So far it is still green but has not really grown much. I have sand substrate also and no co2 added. Lighting is approximately 2 watts per gallon but it is also a shallow tank, approx 9 Iinches from bulb to substrate.

Last edited by Greylady; 07-10-2013 at 02:07 PM.
Greylady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dwarf hairgrass SilverCaracal Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 02-26-2012 06:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.