Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-11-2013, 02:15 PM   #1 
jadaBlu
Member
 
jadaBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest
Quarantine cories bare bare bottom or my tank that used to have a healthy fish in it?

I have a tank free as I am switching over to NPT's that is cycled and the fish that was there is healthy and has been for months. However, that's not a true quarantine. My other choice is to do a bare bottom tank and keep changing the water frequently. They are going into a sorority tank. I do 30 day quarantines.
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 04:41 PM   #2 
TheGoldenBetta
Member
 
TheGoldenBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: A place; crazy, right?
I don't quite understand your question, but I would quarantine them before putting them in your tank.
TheGoldenBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 05:00 PM   #3 
shellieca
Reference Team
 
shellieca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ontario, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadaBlu View Post
I have a tank free as I am switching over to NPT's that is cycled and the fish that was there is healthy and has been for months. However, that's not a true quarantine. My other choice is to do a bare bottom tank and keep changing the water frequently. They are going into a sorority tank. I do 30 day quarantines.
If I understand correctly the bare bottomed tank wouldn't be cycled but you are planning to do frequent water changes. The other tank is cycled which would mean less maintenance. Sounds like its matter of your preference given the tanks are the same size. I wouldn't put 3 cories in a 2g tank even for 30 days.
shellieca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 10:18 AM   #4 
jadaBlu
Member
 
jadaBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest
They are in the cycled 5 gallon. 5 gallons was the size intended. They were floating in a bag when I asked the question. I waited awhile. I decided they came from a foreign tank at the pet store that had more mum in it than mine does. I read that cories can get a fungus from being in bare bottom tanks so I put them in the aready set up tank. Basically the downside to doing it this way is I am exposing them to one more set of fish germs than they would have been exposed to otherwise. I could have avoided that by putting them in a bare bottom tank. However no gravel may have been worse for them. I will still have to keep doing small water changes because I think six fish however small is too much for a five gallon.
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 12:00 PM   #5 
TheGoldenBetta
Member
 
TheGoldenBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: A place; crazy, right?
I get what you're saying now, that was a good choice. Sorry I misinterpreted your question. :)
TheGoldenBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 03:20 PM   #6 
jadaBlu
Member
 
jadaBlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Midwest
No offense taken my question was slightly unclear.
jadaBlu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bare bottom tank pics Leopardfire Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 7 11-28-2012 10:48 PM
First time bare bottom tank Creat Breeding Betta Fish 6 05-24-2011 11:51 PM
Divided bare-bottom tank? puppyrjjkm Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 1 09-21-2010 11:30 AM
How to decorate bare bottom tank? puppyrjjkm Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 2 01-25-2010 03:37 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.