Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-16-2009, 11:43 AM   #1 
bettabeauty
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Do you think my tank is cycled?

I'm not familiar with this tank cycling business. However, in another post, it was asked of my if I cycled my tank. I guess you could say, if I did, not knowingly.

About 10 days ago, I set up my new tank, waited 24 hours and then put my betta fish in.

Didn't do any type of cycling.

However, I have had my betta fish since Oct 1st. When I first got then, I got gravel for them that I was keeping in their bowls. When I set up this new aquarium, I used the same gravel as I did in their bowls.

Now, I have 2 bettas and three snails in my aquarium. Do you think the tank is cycled enough to add two ghost shrimp? Yes/no?
bettabeauty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:54 AM   #2 
vaygirl
Member
 
vaygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Middlesex County, NJ
The only way to know for sure is to use a test kit.
vaygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:56 AM   #3 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
I would recommend the API freshwater master test kit. The strips aren't accurate.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:59 AM   #4 
vaygirl
Member
 
vaygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Middlesex County, NJ
Oh yeah! I had strips that said my ph was 5. Turns out it was 7.4. :\
vaygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 12:06 PM   #5 
bettabeauty
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Oh? So then what kit do you recommend? Anything inexpensive?
bettabeauty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 12:39 PM   #6 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
The API master test kit isn't cheap, unfortunately.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 05:00 PM   #7 
TigerLily
Member
 
TigerLily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Carolina
The API kit isn't cheap, however it will last you a very long time and will give you better results than the strips.
Some places I've been to have sold individual API drop tests, rather than the entire kit. Maybe you could check around for that?
TigerLily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 05:36 PM   #8 
vaygirl
Member
 
vaygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Middlesex County, NJ
I agree, the test kit will last you longer. You'll go through the strips fast and have to buy them over and over. The test kit will last a LONG time. It's probably cheaper in the long run.
vaygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fry tank, cycled or not? Nataku Breeding Betta Fish 6 03-24-2009 04:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.