Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2010, 12:45 PM   #1 
Bettamama122807
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Water current?

Hello!!! I'm wondering if the water current is too stong in my 3 gallon tank for our male betta Jet! I don't want to stress him by making him swim real hard all the time. Any suggestions to lower the flow without really affecting the filtration effectiveness or am I over-thinking this? Im adding a link to a short video of the flow. A picture of the tank and one of Jet for fun!!!!

http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJUGvUZ_ZYI
Attached Images
  
Bettamama122807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 02:21 PM   #2 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
the link isn't working but it looks like you have an eclipse 3 right?

Heres how you buffer it.

Buy one of those sponges used to scrub aquariums (make sure you get a new one) boil it to make sure there's not any bad stuff in it.

Cut it so it covers the out flow area and just barely touches the top of the water.

Next take some rubber bands and wrap them around the sponge and the outflow area of the filter (where the bio wheel is). Just make sure that the bands dont interfere with the biowheel.

This slows the water down to a trickle it works great. I started this with Damon but he actually prefers the stronger current so I took it off. I'll try to get some pics when I get back to school of how I had it set up.

edit... forgot to add.. when you wrap the rubber bands around the sponge make sure you cut notches so the sponge hangs straight and doesn't curve around the outflow.

Last edited by 1fish2fish; 01-03-2010 at 02:23 PM.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 07:16 PM   #3 
Bettamama122807
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
whoops

I see why the link did not work, i doubled the HTTP://.


Here's a good one, i hope :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJUGvUZ_ZYI

Thanks for the tip!!
Bettamama122807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 08:10 PM   #4 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
yeah thats exactly what I have. Try the sponge it should work great.

You also might want to not fill your water so high... you still need at least and inch of air from the top of the hood to the water for your fish to breath.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 09:32 PM   #5 
Bettamama122807
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Believe it or not there are about two inches from the water line to the top of the actual hood, I'm not sure if yours is different but ours needs to be this high for the water intake to work and fill the pump. Our pump is actually underneath the hood!!! But speaking of breathing do you think just haing the gap from the water line to the top of the hood enough for him since it's a closed hood. Should I open the small door to let more air in for him?
Thanks for the help, I will go get a sponge tomorrow and set it up for him!!!!
Bettamama122807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 11:21 PM   #6 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Hmm.. my intake had a tube type thing that reaches down into the tank.. maybe yours is missing... if you want call marineland customer service.. they are excellent, very fast and efficient. They sent a bulb for mine for free since I got it open box sale from petsmart.

I would say mine is about two inches as well. I fill so the water just touches the black part of the tank.

It cant hurt to open the hood for a few hours a day... I am always doing something so the hood is off for a few min... between feeding etc.


BTW... do you have a hard time feeding? There doesnt seem to be a lot of room between the filter to feed through and my boy cant tell where its coming through so I have to take the hood off daily to feed.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 11:27 PM   #7 
Jayy
Member
 
Jayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Palm bay, FL
I know this is off topic but i like your tank.
Jayy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 02:13 PM   #8 
Bettamama122807
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Thanks Jayy!!!

1fish 2fish - We have the tube type thing as well but for some reason if the water is not at that level it won't get stucked through the filter, maybe the fit is not tight in ours and air gets sucked in if the water is lower. :[ oh well!!!
I take the whole hood off to feed too, that little door is WAY too small!!!
Bettamama122807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 01:43 AM   #9 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Yeah thats my problem.. I really love the eclipse series but that door is the deal breaker.. its just too much hassel at feeding time.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Betta vs water filter current amones369 Betta Fish Care 1 03-26-2009 04:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.