Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2010, 11:48 AM   #11 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Umm.. why is the OP continually saying the same sentence???

I agree with what everyone has said. You need to test your tank and see where you stand. It doesn't matter if you cycled the tank originally any time you add or take away something from the tank you disrupt its equilibrium thus disrupting the cycle. You have to do water changes to keep the oxygen from depleteing but still not take away so much water that you lose your cycle. Its always a bad idea to mess with the filter.. just take the cartridge out during water changes and then put it back in (always store it in a bowl or bucket of tank water).

Everytime you do a water change you should test the day before and the day after to make sure your readings don't swing too much. Adding new water can cause a swing in nitrates which could hurt your fish.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 12:02 PM   #12 
kelly528
Member
 
kelly528's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1fish2fish View Post
Umm.. why is the OP continually saying the same sentence???
I will go with... he doesn't fully understand cycling and is therefore unable to make informed questions about it.
kelly528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 12:21 PM   #13 
vaygirl
Member
 
vaygirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Middlesex County, NJ
What are your water parameters? If you cycled correctly, you should have a test kit already. What are your ammonia, nitrite and nitrate numbers?
vaygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 08:40 PM   #14 
Synthisis
New Member
 
Synthisis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Birds and the bees....

Having an aquarium is the bird... water cycling is the bees.

Just accept it and keep doing your water changes.

Do NOT keep putting in conditioner though, seriously. You should only use that stuff when you are doing a water change unless it states that it lowers the ammonia if its high.

Also, dont change your filter. When you do your water change, wash it off int he bucket of dirty water. All a filter does is get the stuff floating around in the water like small particles of food, dirt stirred up, and what not. This is how companies get you, your filter should last way over a month. Cut the carbon out of it and let it go. Its its a double layer filter, I recommend cutting the whole back piece off and dumping the carbon.

Last edited by dramaqueen; 01-05-2010 at 08:49 PM.
Synthisis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:49 PM   #15 
thegameksk
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I just want to apologize. For some reason I only wrote that doesnt make any sense once but as I visit the site now I see it appeared numerous times. I did a full water change and cycled the tank using seachem stability. Thanks for the help.
thegameksk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:06 PM   #16 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
No problem! Sometimes computers do wierd things. lol
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about water changes iamtetsuo Betta Fish Care 4 12-22-2009 11:31 AM
Question about water. supermario Betta Fish Care 5 09-13-2008 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.