Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2010, 04:26 PM   #1 
Avoftw
New Member
 
Avoftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Lightbulb Is a bubble tube okay?

Ive got a 3G tank and it has a bubble tube, is that okay to have with a betta? i know they can breathe without it and whatnot.
Avoftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 05:22 PM   #2 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
Yes, an airstone is fine. The betta may not tolerate it, though.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 05:38 PM   #3 
Avoftw
New Member
 
Avoftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
what will it do if it doesnt tolerate it? hang at the bottom..? or..? :o
Avoftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 05:43 PM   #4 
BettaxFishxCrazy
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
He would start stressing out, you'd be able to see the stress stripes on him. And he'd probably try to get away from it and swim frantically away.
BettaxFishxCrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 05:49 PM   #5 
Avoftw
New Member
 
Avoftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
okay i turned it off, thanks guys :)

do the stripes fade away after a while once the fish isnt stressed anymore?

Last edited by dramaqueen; 01-14-2010 at 06:08 PM.
Avoftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 06:02 PM   #6 
BettaxFishxCrazy
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Yupp they'll go away when he's comfortable again.
BettaxFishxCrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 06:34 PM   #7 
Scienceluvr8
Member
 
Scienceluvr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Texas
I have an airstone in my smaller tank, and my betta seems to tolerate it...I guess it just depends on the individual betta.
Scienceluvr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 07:18 PM   #8 
Avoftw
New Member
 
Avoftw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
i dont have a filter, what filter do you think would be best for a 3G? im going to petsmart tomorrow.
Avoftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 07:22 PM   #9 
Scienceluvr8
Member
 
Scienceluvr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Texas
I would recommend the red sea nano filter. I have one for my 2.5 gallon bow, and I love it. I bought mine at petco though, and I believe its on sale right now...I guess it would help to check online and see if petsmart has it.
Scienceluvr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.