Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2010, 05:41 PM   #1 
ScuitoAmi150
Member
 
ScuitoAmi150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maine
Question Setting up a tank?

I found one of our old tanks today. My mom thinks that it is a 10g. Not sure yet, I'll measure it later.
Anyway, it has dirt in it from when we had our tortoise in it. It has been sitting in the shed for 6 months or so.
I'm currently rinsing out the dirt. But what else do I do to make it betta safe?
ScuitoAmi150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 05:55 PM   #2 
ScuitoAmi150
Member
 
ScuitoAmi150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maine
Also, how do I clean it when the fish are in it? I don't think I can pick it and dump it when it is full.
How often do I clean it?
Should I cycle it? HOW do I cycle? Every time I ask people always tell me what it is, but never how to do it.
ScuitoAmi150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 06:47 PM   #3 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
1. Dilute some vinegar and give it a good scrubbing.. rinse and repeat several times. When you're finished rinse again and let dry. DONT USE SOAP!
2. When you set it up your going to want to get a gravel vacuum. This is the easiest way to clean gravel.
3. You don't have to do a cycle but it is highly recommended on tanks 5+gallons.

Cycling depends on how you want to do it. Fish out is quick and 100% safe. Fish in is longer and more involved. Once you decide HOW your going to cycle we can tell you how to do it. Either way you'll need a filter, heater, gravel or some other substrate, gravel vac, and a LIQUID test kit.. the strips are garbage.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 08:47 PM   #4 
ScuitoAmi150
Member
 
ScuitoAmi150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maine
I don't need a heater, it is going on my dresser which is right above the heater. So it stays warm. I don't have good luck with filters so could I just use the syphon?
ScuitoAmi150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 09:16 PM   #5 
ScuitoAmi150
Member
 
ScuitoAmi150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maine
I'm not going to put gravel in it, forgot to mention that.

If I don't cycle the tank, how do I clean it? Cause like I said before, filters and I don't get along.
ScuitoAmi150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 09:34 PM   #6 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
A 10 gallon uncycled is a pain.. plus without filter or heater its not any better than a smaller tank. You need a filter to aerate your water and a heater to make sure your tank is heated evenly without cold spots (a filter comes into play here). Unless you keep your house at 80 year round I really think you need a filter.

You CAN NOT cycle without a filter or heater.

An uncycled tank you'll have to do 100% water changes weekly.. on a 10 gallon that is a big hassle.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 09:46 PM   #7 
ScuitoAmi150
Member
 
ScuitoAmi150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maine
I could add a filter. But I hate my filter, like literally hate it. I can't even open the stupid thing to clean it. Plus that means extension cords....none of the outlets in my room work so everything has to have extension cords.
ScuitoAmi150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 10:08 PM   #8 
ScuitoAmi150
Member
 
ScuitoAmi150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maine
I just talked to one of my friend's who has bettas and goldfish. She said that if I keep a filter in the tank I should only have to clean out the waste it didn't pick up, & around 10% of the water every week.

Now I won't be able to get my stupid filter back till this weekend. But I really need the tank one of my female is in for my sick male (he can't have a heater in his current temporary tank).
Would Ami be okay being in the 10g until I get the filter back? Also, the filter used to belong to my turtle. And when I got rid of him (not enough room for a growing turtle) I didn't run the filter clean, I just cleaned the parts off with a toothbrush. Do I need to run the filter in the tank first?
ScuitoAmi150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
~ Help setting up a tank ~ twoshihpoos Betta Fish Care 4 06-13-2008 04:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.