Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-25-2013, 01:37 PM   #51 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
You should dose a test gallon. See how many drops it takes to raise the ammonia by 1.0ppm. When your ammonia finally drops to <0.50ppm, dose just enough to bring it back up to 1.0 to 2.0ppm. Watch for nitrite.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 04:16 AM   #52 
CoolishPrune3
Member
 
CoolishPrune3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Never thought of that... considering i was following directions.
CoolishPrune3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 02:05 PM   #53 
CoolishPrune3
Member
 
CoolishPrune3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
So NO signs of Nitrites or Nitrates. Ammonia is still high 3-4 ppm. I am thinking about ordering some Nitrifying Bacteria or should I perhaps just do a water change and start over? Tell me what you think is best.
CoolishPrune3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 03:15 PM   #54 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
How long has it been?
Seem like forever.

R
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 03:33 PM   #55 
CoolishPrune3
Member
 
CoolishPrune3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
I think I started cycling back in August. I dosed once for ammonia after the initial dose. However, nothing has changed since the last pictures I posted. The color has actually gotten darker, meaning the ammonia levels are going up, not going down.
CoolishPrune3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 03:35 PM   #56 
CoolishPrune3
Member
 
CoolishPrune3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Also, I was thinking about this too. Remember when I was asking about bottled water? Well I think this tank might be filled with bottled water. I can not be 100% sure because it has been so long. Do you think I should start over? If I do start over should I change my filter media or just give a good rinse out? Also I was wondering if it is okay to skip adding the water conditioner?
CoolishPrune3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 03:54 PM   #57 
CoolishPrune3
Member
 
CoolishPrune3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Rickey I actually started at the end of Sept. Sorry. I think I am going to do a water change and start over because, even though I asked. I think I still used the bottled water... oops. So Ill go do a 100% water change and get back to you.
CoolishPrune3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 05:22 PM   #58 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Good call, CP. A large water change will not stop what little progress you may have made. Don't replace anything. Don't wash anything, just rinse. Always use conditioner/dechlorinator. The chlorine kills bacteria.

The bacteria is in the air. It's hard waiting for it to fall into your tank and start multiplying. Waiting five/six weeks is not uncommon. If you can afford it, try Tetra Safestart. Many people have had good luck with it. If you're ordering online, and can afford a few dollars more, try Dr Tim's One-and-Only.

Good luck. Keep us posted.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 05:34 PM   #59 
CoolishPrune3
Member
 
CoolishPrune3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Thanks Hallyx. I started a new thread for my 2nd cycling attempt.

2nd attempt cycling thread.
CoolishPrune3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.