Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2010, 08:53 PM   #1 
Z0da122
New Member
 
Z0da122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
amonia problem

i checked my amonia today it was about 2.0. i think it was because i did a water change a couple days a go. what else can it be? please reply.
Z0da122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 08:57 PM   #2 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
Check the ammonia in your tap water before conditioning it. My tap water, before adding Prime conditioner was between .5 and 1.0. After conditioning with Prime water conditioner, which neutralizes ammonia, it went to zero.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 09:06 PM   #3 
1fish2fish
Member
 
1fish2fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
You need to do a water change NOW ammonia levels that high will KILL your fish!!! You don't get ammonia spikes from doing water changes.. doing water changes gets rid of ammonia.

Is your tank cycled? If not I highly suggest you do a 100% change to get all that ammonia out
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 12:32 AM   #4 
Brooke
New Member
 
Brooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chesapeake, VA
I agree about testing your tap water. My boy got what I can only figure was ammonia poisoning the day AFTER I did a 100% water change. I was totally freaked out (because I am very careful about cleaning EVERYTHING), and finally got the idea to test our tap water - which turned out with disturbingly high amounts of ammonia in it.

Needless to say - while his soon to be home is cycling, he is getting spring water when I change it ;). Before I only had a de-chlorinater, I went out and bought something that will also neutralize the ammonia, but am still using the spring water until I am sure he is back to 100%.
Brooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 04:16 AM   #5 
Neelie
Member
 
Neelie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: west ireland
i would immediatly put the lil guy into a clean tank with bottle water (soft) till you find the problem. that is a dangerously high value that doesnt come out of the blue... test your tap water, clean your tank etc etc.
Neelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:23 AM   #6 
Chicklet
Member
 
Chicklet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Quote:
i checked my amonia today it was about 2.0. i think it was because i did a water change a couple days a go. what else can it be? please reply.
Wondering how big your tank is?
In an unfiltered tank Ammonia starts to build instantly,
In a 1 day period you can get high levels alone, So in two days I wouldn't be surprised if it was even higher
Alot of betta's in smaller uncycled tanks are left to set for days on end in water that has reached dangerouse levels of ammonia,
The betta will live a shortened life for it.

Also as others pointed out here it may be a good idea to find out what your levels are straight from the tap.
Chicklet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 09:03 AM   #7 
Dresden
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: POCO BC Canada
How big is the tank?
Dresden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 01:09 PM   #8 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
I'm all for testing the tap water after I found out that there was ammonia in mine.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 02:25 PM   #9 
Z0da122
New Member
 
Z0da122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
i got another tank, i put my fish in it. it's probably gonna be there for a couple weeks because i need to let it cycle.

the tank that needs to cycle is 2 1/2 gallons. the temporary one is 1 gallon

Last edited by dramaqueen; 02-28-2010 at 02:38 PM.
Z0da122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 04:30 PM   #10 
FancyFins
New Member
 
FancyFins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NW Florida
Did you test your tap water? My 2.5 never has ammonia levels that high.
FancyFins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.