Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2013, 11:15 PM   #1 
LouiMon
Member
 
LouiMon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ontario
How do I introduce DIY Co2?

I put it together a few days ago and it's been running nicely, but it's just bubbling into a cup of water right now.

I only have one plant right now, but plan to replant soon with about 7-8 plants. Could I get the Co2 running now or is it unsafe if you don't have a good amount of plants?
LouiMon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 01:12 PM   #2 
Marlow
Member
 
Marlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Canada
Just add an airstone and it should be fine.. It also depends on what you have in there? Shrimp are sensitive to it I've noticed, since I managed to lose a couple bringing up my Co2 levels barely at all. I don't know how DIY systems work, but if you can, lesson the flow as much as possible and bring it up to where you want slowly over the course of a week or so
Marlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 03:05 PM   #3 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
If you done have plants to use the CO2 there not much of a point. The CO2 will lower the pH by a considerable amount so a kH, pH and dropcheck test are advisable so your not shooting in the dark.

R
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.