Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2013, 06:32 PM   #11 
MattsBettas
Reference Team
 
MattsBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
Any way you could go for at least 40 gallons? Turtles really do need a lot of room...
MattsBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 06:34 PM   #12 
jaysee
Reference Team
 
jaysee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattsBettas View Post
I think you should work on getting a much larger tank for your turtle before you even think about bettas...
I agree. Once you get a larger tank for the turtle(s) you can put a betta in the 10. Admittedly I don't know too much about turtles, but a 10 does seem pretty small.
jaysee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 06:38 PM   #13 
lexyfly
Member
 
lexyfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: So Cal USA
I only have room for a thirty gal at the time. Not to mention that I have no money for that large of a tank. I was told that the thirty would be good for now until I can afford a new stand(the one I have con only hold up to 30 gallons) and large tank. I am 14 years old and have to keep my turtle in my room and take care of everything it needs myself. I am really doing the best I can for that turtle. I have put over 200$ into it and am giving the turtle(his name is shipwerk btw) all I can. Once I can afford it I will buy the biggest tank I can for shipwerk. but for now 30 is the best I can do.
lexyfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 06:40 PM   #14 
MattsBettas
Reference Team
 
MattsBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alberta, Canada
It's really good that you care... That goes a long way.

I wouldn't personally put a turtle in a 30 but you could make it work... You're just going to have to keep up on maintenance and over-filter.
MattsBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 06:41 PM   #15 
lexyfly
Member
 
lexyfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: So Cal USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysee View Post
I agree. Once you get a larger tank for the turtle(s) you can put a betta in the 10.
I can only have one tank in my room. I don't have room for two. other wise I would already have another tank for the betta and I would not have this problem. I really wish I had more room and money for all the tanks I want but I don't. I am just trying to do the best I can. I agree I will hold off on the betta until I can get it its own tank.
lexyfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 06:43 PM   #16 
jaysee
Reference Team
 
jaysee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
All in due time
jaysee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 06:44 PM   #17 
lexyfly
Member
 
lexyfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: So Cal USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattsBettas View Post
It's really good that you care... That goes a long way.

I wouldn't personally put a turtle in a 30 but you could make it work... You're just going to have to keep up on maintenance and over-filter.
Yeah. Keeping up with that turtle is much more than I bargained for but now that shipwreks life depends on me I do all the maintenance with no problem. The filter I have now is meant for a 30 gallon so it does a really good job. I also siphon the tank around every week. I should be able to take care of him pretty well.
lexyfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 08:07 PM   #18 
KeshiaB
Member
 
KeshiaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
If you are getting a new turtle tank why can't you use the 10 gallon you have for a betta? Also, if you REALLY want a betta now, could you get a kritter keeper, a large old vase/jar or even a tupperware container to keep the betta in? I've seem some really cool temporary "tanks" made from old jars, you just have to make sure the vessel holds at least 2 gallons of water and can be heated.
KeshiaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 08:09 PM   #19 
KeshiaB
Member
 
KeshiaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexyfly View Post
I can only have one tank in my room. I don't have room for two. other wise I would already have another tank for the betta and I would not have this problem. I really wish I had more room and money for all the tanks I want but I don't. I am just trying to do the best I can. I agree I will hold off on the betta until I can get it its own tank.
Sorry didn't see this before I replied!
KeshiaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Off the feed... Ilikebutterflies Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies 3 06-29-2013 11:24 AM
How much to feed? DefStatic Betta Fish Care 5 03-22-2013 07:42 AM
Can I feed Him? FishyFriend1 Betta Fish Care 7 11-30-2010 09:29 AM
How much should I feed him? Torbs Betta Fish Care 2 09-23-2009 09:58 PM
How many times should you feed you feed your betta megnjosh Betta Fish Care 9 09-28-2008 02:17 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.