Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2014, 08:42 PM   #1 
JamieL
Member
 
JamieL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Debating changing my filter(s)

Right now I have a 20 gallon long, relatively heavily planted with one betta, 5 panda cories and 5 otos. I'm currently running two cycled filters on it, one tetra whisper 10 and a topfin 10, one on each end. I'm thinking about switching to just one filter, I'm looking at the Aquaclear 30, since the aquaclear filters seem to be so popular. I'm not sure if it's worth making the switch or if I should just stick with the setup I have. According to AQAdvisor (I know it's not the be-all end-all, but I like to use it as a reference) with what I have now I'm at 96% filtration capacity, but the AC 30 would put me up to 115% or so. What do you all think?
JamieL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 09:11 PM   #2 
FirstBetta
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
You could upgrade to Aquaclear 50 and get all the features of the AC line and get more adequate filtration.
FirstBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 11:35 PM   #3 
hopeful fish
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
go for it. So long as you give it time to establish before removing the old one, nothing bad will happen.
hopeful fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 09:37 AM   #4 
JamieL
Member
 
JamieL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Ok, I went for it and got the ac50. :). I saw that you can turn down the flow, so I figured its $6 more, and it would be good to have in case I ever get a bigger tank.

Should be coming in the mail today. I wonder if transferring the media from the other two into this one will be enough to transition? I could leave the whisper in the tank for a while I guess.
JamieL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 03:28 PM   #5 
FirstBetta
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Using the two together is the way to do it!
FirstBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 11:23 PM   #6 
JamieL
Member
 
JamieL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
I bought a more powerful one so I don't have to run two! I'm not sure id need it, just the ac50 running on its own is so much better than the other two, I cant believe the difference. My water and substrate have never been so clear, I'm amazed. And the space for media is so big that I used all the new media it came with, except the carbon, plus all the old media from both the other two filters. I'm so glad I bought this one!!!
JamieL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 11:40 PM   #7 
jennesque
Member
 
jennesque's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
I personally like running two filters if I'm running an actual mechanical filter. In my 20 long I have a sponge filter, and an extra air pump in case of any air pump failures.. In my 37 gal I run a canister filter and a little box filter which is also air powered... I just like to have a back up in case anything breaks. Plus with a sponge filter, it's easy to set up a battery powered air pump in case of power outages.
Posted via Mobile Device
jennesque is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Debating Spong Filter 10asartin Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 06-22-2013 09:47 AM
Should I be changing my filter? agent89201 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 14 05-05-2012 03:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.