Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2010, 07:40 PM   #11 
FuulieQ
Member
 
FuulieQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Hmm, that's the same kind of test strips that I use. Although I have doubts as to their accuracy. If I were you I'd probably get the liquid tests, although they are expensive it seems like it would be a good investment.
FuulieQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:55 PM   #12 
Sella
New Member
 
Sella's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Tests strips vary in accuracy for everything except maybe pH.

And the fish were bought from the same store or two different stores?
Sella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:03 PM   #13 
my dead bettas
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
different stores.

What is cycling and should I do it?

Please let me know.
my dead bettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 10:44 AM   #14 
LolaQuigs
Member
 
LolaQuigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MO
Cycling is basically breeding beneficial bacteria that will consume the ammonia your fish produce, making the parameters of the tank generally more stable and reducing how often you need to do water changes. Small tanks usually won't hold a cycle but your 5 gallon will be fine. You will, however, need a filter if you don't have one.

Cycling is not a requirement as long as you do very frequent water changes but it is highly recommended. Here is a helpful link that explains cycling more in depth than I can, and tells you how to cycle your tank.
LolaQuigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 02:19 PM   #15 
Mitsufishi
New Member
 
Mitsufishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Choctaw Ok
If maybe there is absolutley nothing that was in the water before the first fish, you couldve very well bought a sick fish. Then adding the 2nd and the snails into the same water he couldnt contracted water the other fish had. Maybe?!
Mitsufishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 03:08 PM   #16 
Zenandra
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange County, New York
Mitsufishi makes a good point. Did you clean the tank after the first fish passed before adding the new ones?

Its very possible that there may be something in your water that is bad for the fish that isn't even tested on those strips. Do you have down water or well water?

I would wash the whole tank, decorations everything with a bleach solution (9 parts water 1 part bleach) then rinse with HOT water. The wash again with vinegar, rinse again with HOT water and then let air dry for a couple days.

Then try again, I would try maybe using some RO water or something, or find another source of water besides wherever you get your water from and see if it makes a difference!

Good luck!
Zenandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 03:24 PM   #17 
Mitsufishi
New Member
 
Mitsufishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Choctaw Ok
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitsufishi View Post
If maybe there is absolutley nothing that was in the water before the first fish, you couldve very well bought a sick fish. Then adding the 2nd and the snails into the same water he couldve contracted whatever the other fish had. Maybe?!
\WHOA Where is the edit button?

^ i fixed the quote!
Mitsufishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 05:40 PM   #18 
my dead bettas
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Thanks for all the tips. I'll try again this weekend.
my dead bettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 05:29 PM   #19 
Tomsk
Member
 
Tomsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Gloucester,uk
Hi,
I was just looking through the various posts on the forum and saw your pics,Do you have a filter for your tank?
Tomsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 06:44 PM   #20 
my dead bettas
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomsk View Post
Hi,
I was just looking through the various posts on the forum and saw your pics,Do you have a filter for your tank?
No filter at this time. I have one that I can set up but I thought one was not needed.
my dead bettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laurence is dead CodeRed Betta Fish Care 16 08-24-2009 04:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.