Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2010, 05:05 PM   #31 
TheJadeBetta
Member
 
TheJadeBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Arkansas
I have a two gallon tank that is cycled.
TheJadeBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 05:11 PM   #32 
sarbear
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Why wouldn't it be possible? I can't make sense of it, and people seem to believe that you can't, but no one seems to know why. What does the size matter? I'm not trying to be rude, btw, I just want to know what the logic behind it is.
sarbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 05:24 PM   #33 
wallywestisthebest333
Member
 
wallywestisthebest333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Currently East Coast
It might be considerably more difficult if you do a fish-in cycle or if you do a pure ammonia cycle though. =/

^
l

That's how size matters. if you're doing a fish-in cycle (like most used too) then it's really tough because you have to do multiple daily waterchanges.

you have to do more water changes for the pure ammonia method too.

Partial waterchanges are probably more difficult in smaller tanks while keeping the bacteria happy.

that's just my theory though. I'm still working on starting my cycle for my 5 gallon. =/

Last edited by wallywestisthebest333; 07-21-2010 at 05:27 PM.
wallywestisthebest333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 05:35 PM   #34 
sarbear
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Um...your last post totally confused me...Doing multiple water changes during a fish in cycle doesn't make cycling a tank impossible.

And doing a pure ammonia fishless cycle means there is no reason to do water changes unless you accidentally dose the ammonia too high, it should stay at 3-5.
sarbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 07:45 PM   #35 
Maryrox247
Member
 
Maryrox247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Well the guy at the fish store (really smart he is not one of those idiots that just say whatever to make you buy a fish) said you cant cycle tanks less than 5 gallons and i read it somewhere. It didn't explain why though honestly.
Maryrox247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 07:52 PM   #36 
Lion Mom
Member
 
Lion Mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: N.E. Wisconsin, U.S.A.
My two 3 gal. Eclipse tanks are cycled. :)
Lion Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 08:16 PM   #37 
Lion Mom
Member
 
Lion Mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: N.E. Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maryrox247 View Post
Well the guy at the fish store (really smart he is not one of those idiots that just say whatever to make you buy a fish) said you cant cycle tanks less than 5 gallons and i read it somewhere. It didn't explain why though honestly.
I just don't see why not. No matter the size of the tank if you have food for the bacteria (fish waste or ammonia) and oxygenated water (via the filter), you should get a cycle. Right?
Lion Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 08:03 AM   #38 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
I think and this is just my opinion-that often confusion about cycling in smaller tanks happen due to most of the smaller tank will not have filtration and without the filtration/aeration you will not get a true/stable cycle.
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 09:28 AM   #39 
KBoone
New Member
 
KBoone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southwest Ohio
I do agree that you are not going to be able to "cycle" a tank in the traditional since for lack of a filter in a smaller set-up. BUT, I am a firm believer that, if you have a smaller set-up you should have a filter alternative anyway. LIVE PLANTS! They act in the same manner that a filter does in a more natural way. Ammonia becomes nitrites -> bacteria converts them into nitrates -> plants have all kinds of fun eating nitrates and turning them back into all kinds of healthy stuff! In this was a nitrogen cycle does occur and therefore. . . the tank has been "cycled!"

And I always do mine fish in. Something about the plants, but I never get enormous ammonia or nitrite spikes and my fish have never suffered for it. *shrug*

Last edited by KBoone; 07-22-2010 at 09:31 AM.
KBoone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 09:40 AM   #40 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Very true KBoone, active growing plants will use the ammonia first for food and often in heavy planted tanks you will not get nitrate readings-the indicator or test we use to tell if the tank is cycled.

Be aware that for the plants to function as filtration that the plants must be actively growing and you need more than a couple of plants to do the job, stem plants and floating plants work best IMO/E
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which store do you use?????? Little Marlin Betta Chat 18 09-18-2010 03:19 PM
Help me Please! The pet store isn't any help. colovergirl Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 25 05-15-2010 10:24 PM
New pet store!!!! doggyhog Betta Fish Care 14 10-08-2009 11:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.