Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-13-2010, 02:08 PM   #401 
Canuck Fins
Member
 
Canuck Fins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldfishlady View Post
I would do a test to get a base line on your source water-remember that your pH from the tap will be different once the water has gassed out in 24h-this is also good to know so you will know if anything in the tank is causing pH changes...what kind of testing products are you using?

How big is your tank, what kind of filter and any live plants?
My tank is a 5g Hawkeye which came with a filter (have to look up what kind). I have a 25W heater. I want to add plants, but I don't have them yet so I'll be cycling without them. I've got an API freshwater test kit.
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 02:43 PM   #402 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Sounds like a good set-up and plan.....if you have never used the testing products make sure and shake the #2 nitrate bottle and bang on the table a couple of times before use-the reagent tends to settle and you can get a skewed reading...good luck with the nitrogen cycle and keep us posted....
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 02:51 PM   #403 
Canuck Fins
Member
 
Canuck Fins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Thank you! I'll do the pH test today when I set up and then tomorrow test pH and ammonia, yes? Do I wait before doing nitate tests?
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 02:56 PM   #404 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Its a good idea to get a base line on your source water to make sure you don't already have ammonia, nitrate in your water from the start....sometimes you can have low levels-are you on well water or city water? and what kind of dechlorinator are you going to use if on city water supply?
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 03:24 PM   #405 
Canuck Fins
Member
 
Canuck Fins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
I'm on city water and our city has good water.
I've got Prime to add to the water. (I have learned from the folks here! ;) )
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 03:57 PM   #406 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canuck Fins View Post
I'm on city water and our city has good water.
I've got Prime to add to the water. (I have learned from the folks here! ;) )
Good choice.....
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 01:38 PM   #407 
JKfish
Member
 
JKfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Georgia
I know this is probably stupid, but how do people crack their terra cotta pots in half so perfectly without it shattering? I'm reluctant to use a hammer, seeing as tools and I haven't ever really mixed well together in the past :P
JKfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 10:27 PM   #408 
danifacetastic
Member
 
danifacetastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina.
Divided Tanks

To divided tank owners...when does the paranoia that somehow one of your fish is going to get through the crack between the divider and the glass even though he shows no interest and he wouldn't make it anyway go away?
danifacetastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 11:34 PM   #409 
Canuck Fins
Member
 
Canuck Fins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
So I did my tests just to see where my tank is before I try to cycle. My water came up with 7.6 for pH. Do I need to worry about that at this point or will the dead shrimp I tossed in there tonight change that?

(Tank is 5g Hawkeye, 25w heater, filter that came with tank, Prime in city water)
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 04:26 PM   #410 
JKfish
Member
 
JKfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Georgia
the cycle should not change your ph, but it's always a good idea to keep an eye on the PH because when you get tap water sometimes the ph will fluctuate some.
JKfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Question CodeRed Betta Fish Care 10 07-30-2009 02:23 PM
Quick question. IonBaller07 Betta Fish Care 21 06-21-2009 04:00 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.