Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2011, 11:34 PM   #1 
peachesxo
Member
 
peachesxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Marineland Bio Wheel Aquarium - Lid doesn't close all the way, aaah

Hi I just got a 10 gallon marineland bio wheel led aquarium and set it up, the lid is attatched on the back with these hinge things and they look like they are on right and it's all attatched but the hood will not close all the way.
Has anyone else had this problem?

Its opening about an inch at the very front....

Is this because it is new? Will it eventually wear out a little and come down?

SO ANNOYING haha
peachesxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 01:42 AM   #2 
baylee767
Member
 
baylee767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hawaii- Go Diamond head!
I had this exact same problem. I found that when I closed it I had to push the hood off to one side as I brang it down.

Push it on the opposite side of your opening. For ex. if the front of your hood looks like this / (Not quite that angled LOL) the push the hood to the left as you bring it down.
baylee767 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 03:09 AM   #3 
peachesxo
Member
 
peachesxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
nothing seems to work, not even that :(
im just going to hope it loosens up eventually. boo.
it doesn't really affect the tank at all and he cant jump out of that (i wouldnt think) but it's annnoyyying lol
peachesxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 08:41 AM   #4 
Slayers
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by peachesxo View Post
Hi I just got a 10 gallon marineland bio wheel led aquarium and set it up, the lid is attatched on the back with these hinge things and they look like they are on right and it's all attatched but the hood will not close all the way.
Has anyone else had this problem?

Its opening about an inch at the very front....

Is this because it is new? Will it eventually wear out a little and come down?

SO ANNOYING haha
I have the same tank and set up and when I looked closer at it I noticed that the tube was being pushed up from it being to long so I cut the lower tube about 1/2 inch and it fits a lot better
Slayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 08:52 AM   #5 
fishman12
Member
 
fishman12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ........
Good luck with it!
fishman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 08:13 PM   #6 
Lion Mom
Member
 
Lion Mom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: N.E. Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Call Marine Land and ask them about it. Maybe they can give you some pointers. :)
Lion Mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 08:41 PM   #7 
peachesxo
Member
 
peachesxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slayers View Post
I have the same tank and set up and when I looked closer at it I noticed that the tube was being pushed up from it being to long so I cut the lower tube about 1/2 inch and it fits a lot better
That's not it.
I had that problem when setting the tank/filter up because the tube was waaay too long and hitting the bottom of the tank and pushing everything up so I couldn't put the top of the filter on.
I cut about 3/4 of it off and am just using a tiny piece.


It's still not closing. I think the grips are too tight and I'm hoping they will loosen up in time and the lid will eventually close fully.
It doesn't affect the aquarium at all and I know he couldn't get out but it just bugs me so much. I am a perfectionist when it comes to weird details like that that don't go right.

Hmmmmph.
peachesxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 08:43 PM   #8 
peachesxo
Member
 
peachesxo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lion Mom View Post
Call Marine Land and ask them about it. Maybe they can give you some pointers. :)
I will this weekend, i tried yesterday but because of the time change hours of where they operate from i can never get through because they are already closed by the time i get home from work :(
peachesxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.