Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2011, 12:47 PM   #1 
SolaceTiger
Member
 
SolaceTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Forest Lake, MN
Cool Returned to the forum... just a question. :)

Hi everyone.

So I used to be an active member here, a couple years ago now! I've had the hankering to have fish again but I need to have some restraint. Unfortunately, I've sold my 30 gallon tank! Before I consider adopting another betta ...or any other fish, I want to make sure my water quality will be good enough.

We live in a house now in an area that has really bad well water... if we didn't have the softener, it would be orange. However, now we have a softener plus an extra de-ironizing tank thingy... if I use that water for the tank plus something like aquasafe to condition it, would that be alright?

When I had my last betta, Zidane, I lived in a place where it was city water and I used a conditioner then. So I wasn't sure how different softened well water would be. :) I honestly, don't really want to invest in an API kit again for testing... I'm probably gonna let the tank cycle for a few weeks... I just miss the hobby and want a little buddy to watch. :) Input? :D
SolaceTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 03:24 PM   #2 
Miyazawa
Member
 
Miyazawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
you can't really skip the testing part when you want to cycle...so...:S
Miyazawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 07:29 PM   #3 
SolaceTiger
Member
 
SolaceTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Forest Lake, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miyazawa View Post
you can't really skip the testing part when you want to cycle...so...:S

Technically, yes, that's true. But I know more or less how long it will take. I plan to feed the tank for a few weeks at least, and get the filter running.. all that jazz.
SolaceTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 11:40 PM   #4 
Miyazawa
Member
 
Miyazawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolaceTiger View Post
Technically, yes, that's true. But I know more or less how long it will take. I plan to feed the tank for a few weeks at least, and get the filter running.. all that jazz.
I will say go for it and trust your instincts then :)
Miyazawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 11:46 PM   #5 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
Hey, welcome back!! I know that OldFishLady has well water and I don't think she uses conditioner. I don't really know about the soft water stuff.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:34 PM   #6 
PewPewPew
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Im pretty sure she doesnt use it, too, but it might be because the water has no chlorine but also because the heavy metals are absorbed by the plants, which is another issue.
PewPewPew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
betta, iron, water softener, well water

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about forum Twilight Storm The Lounge 1 05-24-2011 11:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.