Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-08-2011, 02:15 AM   #1 
MarcusTheGreat
Member
 
MarcusTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto
Fluval Edge Aquarium Questions

i know what ur gonna say the gap in the aquarium is to small cuz of the filter
there. what if u take out the filter would that be better?

also heard lots off ppl being successful with this tank and bettas

they will learn to go up to the gap for air

what do u guys think ?
MarcusTheGreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:32 AM   #2 
Sakura8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elk Grove, California
If you don't fill the water up all the way to the top but leave maybe an inch from the water surface to the top of the tank, there should be enough air for him to breathe. I think he'll be fine in it. And you can leave the filter in, it ought to be fine. It's a Hagen AquaClear so be sure to set the flow output on low (push the intake tube that is on the left all the way to the right after you've primed the filter).
Sakura8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:33 AM   #3 
MarcusTheGreat
Member
 
MarcusTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakura8 View Post
If you don't fill the water up all the way to the top but leave maybe an inch from the water surface to the top of the tank, there should be enough air for him to breathe. I think he'll be fine in it. And you can leave the filter in, it ought to be fine. It's a Hagen AquaClear so be sure to set the flow output on low (push the intake tube that is on the left all the way to the right after you've primed the filter).
i think im just gonna remove the the filter and keep the tank with no filter so he can build bubble nests and so on
MarcusTheGreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:35 AM   #4 
Sakura8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elk Grove, California
Sounds like a plan. :)
Sakura8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:35 AM   #5 
MarcusTheGreat
Member
 
MarcusTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto
but what if i fill the water all the way to the top and remove the filter what u think about that?

im pritty sure he will know were to go for air no?
MarcusTheGreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:37 AM   #6 
Sakura8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elk Grove, California
You could do that too. You're right, instinctively he'll know to go up for air. As long as there is some way for air to get into the space above the water so he can breathe, the tank will work out.
Sakura8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:44 AM   #7 
MarcusTheGreat
Member
 
MarcusTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakura8 View Post
You could do that too. You're right, instinctively he'll know to go up for air. As long as there is some way for air to get into the space above the water so he can breathe, the tank will work out.
there is theres a square at the top of the tank

im just scared hes gonna forget to go up to that spot for air thats the gap

http://www.google.ca/imgres?q=fluval...0&tx=84&ty=129


http://www.google.ca/imgres?q=fluval...t:429,r:9,s:26 thats the tank

Last edited by MarcusTheGreat; 12-08-2011 at 02:46 AM.
MarcusTheGreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:49 AM   #8 
Sakura8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elk Grove, California
I think he'll remember. Bettas have good senses, he'll be able to sense, taste, and smell where the air is coming from and he'll head straight for that spot. He might nose around at the surface a bit but he'll always know where to go to breathe.
Sakura8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 02:54 AM   #9 
MarcusTheGreat
Member
 
MarcusTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto
thanks budd for the help i will post up pics when the set up is done
MarcusTheGreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 05:29 AM   #10 
SmokeNLark
Member
 
SmokeNLark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I would not fill it to the top. Most of the surface in the edge is glass, not water. If he can't find the surface, he will drown. This tank was not made for bettas. Lower the water level if you plan to use the edge for a betta. And by removing the filter, the tank will never cycle and you are going to have to do 100% water changes fairly often. So keep that in mind.

Please don't bet your fish's life that he will find that spot for air. That is completely unnatural for them to not be able to breathe at the surface. At the very least, keep a VERY close eye on him and if he's having any trouble at all, lower the water.
SmokeNLark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fluval Edge Aquarium QUESTIONS MarcusTheGreat Betta Chat 16 12-07-2011 03:25 PM
Fluval EDGE fourtanks Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 06-06-2011 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.