Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2012, 04:52 PM   #1 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Will getting a new filter restart the cycle?

My tank just finished cycling (had it for about a month) but I want to get a new filter for it. Will this start the process all over again?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 05:21 PM   #2 
thekoimaiden
Member
 
thekoimaiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia, USA
If you can save the filter media (cartridge) then your cycle won't restart. But if not, you could see a mini-cycle. I had this happen in one of my 10 gal tanks. I removed the filter, and it went through a mini-cycle.
thekoimaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 05:36 PM   #3 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekoimaiden View Post
If you can save the filter media (cartridge) then your cycle won't restart. But if not, you could see a mini-cycle. I had this happen in one of my 10 gal tanks. I removed the filter, and it went through a mini-cycle.
How long does a mini-cycle last?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 06:37 PM   #4 
thekoimaiden
Member
 
thekoimaiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia, USA
It depends on how much of the bio-filter you destroyed. A lot of the good bacteria grows on the filter cartridge, however some bacteria does grow in the substrate. It depends on how long it takes the bacteria in the substrate to replicate and grow to deal with the ammonia level in the tank. It could a few days or it could be weeks. I think your safest bet is to make sure you save the filter media.
thekoimaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 07:34 PM   #5 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Yeah but I don't think the cartridge for my current filter is compatible with the new one
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 08:22 PM   #6 
LittleBettaFish
Member
 
LittleBettaFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
If you don't transfer your filter cartridge, you are essentially going to have to start from scratch on your cycle. There is not enough beneficial bacteria living in your substrate and water column to process ammonia and nitrites efficiently.

If you do a water change, you can gently squeeze some of the 'gunk' out of your old filter over the media of your new one and then run the two filters side-by-side for a couple of weeks until the new filter is at least partially seeded.
LittleBettaFish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 09:10 PM   #7 
thekoimaiden
Member
 
thekoimaiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia, USA
+1 You have to transfer the cartridge in a tank that small. You don't have to put it in the filter. You could just put it in the tank, and let it seed your new filter from there.
thekoimaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 05:25 PM   #8 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
What I have heard other people do is to put the new filter cartrudge in the tank for about a week before pulling the old one oiut. Then, after a week or so you can take the old one out and put the new one in.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter and Cycle phsyco009 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 08-11-2011 06:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.