Betta Fish Forum banner

How to cycle a tank?

1K views 29 replies 7 participants last post by  Mumma 
#1 ·
So I've been doing some research on cycling. I have had a 5gal since January of this year but I've read that cycling wouldn't happen in a tank that small and that it would just be best to do water changes.

But my bf got a 10gal last week and is a total noobie (not unlike me) so I thought that maybe we could cycle this tank. Thing is, the instructions that I've found online say to use a few small fish to get it started. We only have the one betta is the 10gal and we do not intend to put any other fish in there (nor do we want to). My question is, how do we cycle a tank that already houses a betta and about 10 shrimp?

#3 ·
The thing is, they always recommend using other kind of fish. I only have a betta in that tank and do not want anything else in it. How do I cycle a tank with just the betta and 10 shrimp in it?? I'm so confused.

Another question; can I cycle a tank using a sponge filter?

#4 · (Edited)
Yeah so far my Bettas have not faired well with a fish in cycle. I would recommend using the 5 gallon tank and monitoring the water parameters in it and doing a fishless cycle on the 10 gallon. This is my personal recommendation. Of course others have had Bettas and cycled tanks fine.