Betta Fish Forum banner

Rough start, but I have a plan.

852 views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  PewPewPew 
#1 ·
Hi, all. I'm new to bettas and new to this forum, though I've been lurking quite a bit since I got my fishies and pretty much stalking this forum since they got sick. I'll try to make this backstory short, but basically:

1. I'm a first year university student sharing a teensy dorm room with another girl.
2. Upon realizing we're allowed to keep fish in the dorms, I got super excited. Then it was my birthday, and my parents came to visit, taking me out to a local pet shop on a whim for my birthday present.
3. Although I'd not researched bettas beforehand, I asked the pet store people tons of questions and was fairly confident that my fish would be happy, healthy and low maintenance.
4. At no point did I ever mention a desire to breed my fish. I just wanted a pretty little tank with fish, and after about two hours of pestering them with questions about care, compatibility, living space, water changes, etc., they sold me a 0.8 gallon designer tank, a few plastic plants and three bettas. They assured me that this was enough space and that they would all get along splendidly. In fact, I was originally going to get one male and one female, but the people advised me to get another female so the male would have 'choice' and therefore not pick on his girl. Because I'm not nearly skeptical enough, I bought it.
5. I set the tank up and it became readily apparent that this was not going to work.

So if you're wondering why I got these fish if I don't have the means to care for them properly, that's why. Thank you, pet shop.