Betta Fish Forum banner

Please Help Me! Everything is going wrong!

2K views 14 replies 9 participants last post by  tpocicat 
#1 ·
Hi Ladies and Gents.

Before I explain my issues, please don't judge me. I know I have got things wrong with my aquarium, seen as I have lost a total of 7 fish in just over a week.

6 x Rummy nose Tetras
1 x Betta (Who dies extremely suddenly)

I am extremely new to the whole fish keeping world, and really should have done more research than I did. I know that now.

I started my tank with 1 Betta, who was thriving for about 3 weeks. Eating fine, swimming fine, curious as ever. Tank was correct (according to what it said in my aquarium guide book) After a week or so I decided to get my Betta (Chin) a couple of tank mates (2 x Otoclincus) I introduced them after 40 minutes of floating their bag on the water surface. I know I should probably quarentine my new tank additions but I didn't know that at the time.

All was going well, Chin was as happy as larry. My little dust busters were hoovering their way round the tank, all was good. No change in tank conditions. Then my mum went out and bought some 3 Rummy Noses. I did the same as with my Oto's except all didn't go so well this time.

The fish were added on the Wednesday by Thursday morning I had already lost one. I put it down to stress as their were no physical marks and the others were darting around together just fine. All tank dwellers were in good health and spirits so it seemed. By Thursday I had lost another Rummy Nose. Now I was concerned so conducted a water test which came back fine. Nothing alarming. I monitored the fish closely and all seemed well.