Betta Fish Forum banner

A drawing of my betta fish

2K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  youlovegnats 
#1 ·
This is my first attempt of drawing my betta fish :)
This is my only male betta fish which has already got a sickness which is called "dropsy" and i found out that he got the pinecone scale yesterday but not bloated...so i got really sad because its some sorta fatal disease so i decided to draw him :)....my drawings are not that good but atleast i tried my best XD

See less See more
#2 ·
What? How old are you? :V!

You're drawing is lovely, what might help is try to do some shadowing, even if you are not going to colour it, if you are going to colour it, do the shadows with the colours, if not just the pencil might help.

But this is a really good drawing, you should be proud of it.

My advice is: Even though you think it's bad, don't give up and continue drawing.

Or you can do as my last drawing teacher used to say to us "Never use the eraser" but that's kinda stressful, because I always spam eraser at my drawings. XD

#3 ·
As a professional artist, I can recommend a few things. I'm also curious to know how old you are, as well. :)

1. As SillyCone mentioned, shading may seem daunting but don't be afraid to try it! I don't know how much of an artist you are or how much you know, but as silly as this may sound, try really focusing on how hard you're pressing the pencil to the paper. Try really softly pressing it, perhaps even barely touching the paper then slowly pressing more as you go. Shading can make it look greater than it already does if you want to give it a go. With that said, I've seen line art and black and white art that puts color and shaded art to shame. It's all in technique. If you'd ever like further advice please feel free to ask!